5,606,409 Members 33,397 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Security Concerns with Rooting/Custom ROM's

Tip us?

mjs2011
Old
(Last edited by mjs2011; 7th February 2014 at 11:45 PM.)
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1628
Default Security Concerns with Rooting/Custom ROM's

Hi everyone, I hate to ask this question since I've been rooting and flashing ROM's for a good 3 years now.

I recently accepted a promotion at my work and I am now being given access to my work's email (through the app called "Good"). My fear is that my security is extremely important where I work because my employer is a financial institution. My question is if running anything other than stock presents any kind security risk whatsoever. I love running custom ROM's, but it's not worth losing my job.

Thanks and sorry if this is the dumbest question you've ever read.

paperWastage
Old
(Last edited by paperWastage; 7th February 2014 at 09:06 PM.)
Thanks Meter 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjs2011 View Post
Hi everyone, I hate to ask this question since I've been rooting and flashing ROM's for a good 3 years now.

I recently accepted a promotion at my work and I am now being given access to my work's email (through the app called "Good"). My fear is that my security is extremely important where I work because my employer is a financial institution. My question is if running anything other than stock presents any kind security risk whatsoever. I love running customer ROM's, but it's not worth losing my job.

Thanks and sorry if this is the dumbest question you've ever read.
"Good for Enterprise" won't run on a rooted phone..

there are ways to bypass the root detection (google xda+good+hide+root, but if the app updates, you might have to re-hide it

with a rooted nexus 5... you could buy a really cheap used phone (with wifi), don't root it, install good and tether via your nexus 5... but you'll have to carry around two phones
Current Device: