Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more
Post Reply

[Q] No service on new Nexus 5, but data works

OP KristianK

1st June 2014, 02:54 PM   |  #11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Dansker her også

The problem you have, i faced that when my old phone got stolen. So less then a week ago my old phone got stolen (got it back, but bought a nexus 5 now :3) i called the insurance company and police to report it stolen, and i got it IMEI locked with the help of the police. And when that happends you wont be able to call or text from it, but your data will work for tracking it.
So my guess is that its a stolen phone and the original owner reported it stolen to the police, and now its IMEI locked.

Try and call the police and give them the IMEI number, and tell them what you told us and ask if its locked.
Great day to you!
1st June 2014, 03:18 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S

Don't want to look offensive, but are you on wifi?

No I'm not ^^

@Zestia , I'll try that, although the websites with blacklist-lookup that I've tried the IMEI with, didn't say that it's stolen.
2nd June 2014, 04:56 AM   |  #13  
gd6noob's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 132
 
1,062 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Did you check to see if your phone is blacklisted for being lost/stolen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMurphy

More>Mobile Network Settings>Access Point Names

You need to either update or add your APN for your provider, then everything will work for you. Flashing modems probably won't help you. Also, make sure the Sim card you have is active.

Phone Calls dont use apn settings... Even with no apn settings you are able to make calls.. Well at least in Canada... Not sure about other country but i think it would be the same...

Sent from my Nexus5 using Tapatalk
2nd June 2014, 09:49 AM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by gd6noob

Did you check to see if your phone is blacklisted for being lost/stolen?

I'll get a response later today (hopefully)

EDIT: I was :/
Last edited by KristianK; 2nd June 2014 at 03:40 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank