Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Settings stock kernel

OP peterpao

11th June 2014, 10:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Porto
Thanks Meter: 10
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Can i change the default settings on Nexus 5 stock kernel? For instance, change governor control ondemand for interactive or change maximum cpu frequency to 1729 mhz?
11th June 2014, 10:51 PM   |  #2  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 2,213
 
3,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterpao

Can i change the default settings on Nexus 5 stock kernel? For instance, change governor control ondemand for interactive or change maximum cpu frequency to 1729 mhz?

Yes. It won't stick unless you apply it at boot though. And sometimes it won't stick regardless at least for me. It's buggy but it should work as long as you're rooted.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
11th June 2014, 10:51 PM   |  #3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,806
 
24,987 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
It's not designed to allow that. You need a custom kernel.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
11th June 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Porto
Thanks Meter: 10
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
I have rom and kernel stock, changed kernel default settings with FKU, reboot and the settings aren't changed. Forgot to say, i have root
11th June 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #5  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,818
 
27,394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterpao

Can i change the default settings on Nexus 5 stock kernel? For instance, change governor control ondemand for interactive or change maximum cpu frequency to 1729 mhz?

yes. you need a cpu control app(and root), and youd have to disable mpdecision.

---------- Post added at 05:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:02 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterpao

I have rom and kernel stock, changed kernel default settings with FKU, reboot and the settings aren't changed. Forgot to say, i have root

many things they dont make to stick on boot. first off, youd need to set whatever you need set to set on boot. if it doesn't have an option for set on boot, then you would have to change it at every boot.
11th June 2014, 11:12 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Porto
Thanks Meter: 10
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
One strange thing that i saw, was that stock default settings on minimum cpu frequency was at 1267mhz
11th June 2014, 11:19 PM   |  #7  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,818
 
27,394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterpao

One strange thing that i saw, was that stock default settings on minimum cpu frequency was at 1267mhz

thats why i said mpdecision needs to be disabled, or no matter what you set as cpu speed, itll change it on its own whenever it feels like.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes