Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,079 Members 51,580 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Settings stock kernel

Tip us?
 
peterpao
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 63
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Porto
Default Settings stock kernel

Can i change the default settings on Nexus 5 stock kernel? For instance, change governor control ondemand for interactive or change maximum cpu frequency to 1729 mhz?
 
TheLastSidekick
Old
#2  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1933
Posts: 2,942
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterpao View Post
Can i change the default settings on Nexus 5 stock kernel? For instance, change governor control ondemand for interactive or change maximum cpu frequency to 1729 mhz?
Yes. It won't stick unless you apply it at boot though. And sometimes it won't stick regardless at least for me. It's buggy but it should work as long as you're rooted.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Team Inferno (Co-admin)
 
rootSU
Old
#3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10062
Posts: 21,189
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
It's not designed to allow that. You need a custom kernel.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
peterpao
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 63
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Porto
I have rom and kernel stock, changed kernel default settings with FKU, reboot and the settings aren't changed. Forgot to say, i have root
 
simms22
Old
#5  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 20745
Posts: 24,993
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterpao View Post
Can i change the default settings on Nexus 5 stock kernel? For instance, change governor control ondemand for interactive or change maximum cpu frequency to 1729 mhz?
yes. you need a cpu control app(and root), and youd have to disable mpdecision.

---------- Post added at 05:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:02 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterpao View Post
I have rom and kernel stock, changed kernel default settings with FKU, reboot and the settings aren't changed. Forgot to say, i have root
many things they dont make to stick on boot. first off, youd need to set whatever you need set to set on boot. if it doesn't have an option for set on boot, then you would have to change it at every boot.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
peterpao
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 63
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Porto
One strange thing that i saw, was that stock default settings on minimum cpu frequency was at 1267mhz
 
simms22
Old
#7  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 20745
Posts: 24,993
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterpao View Post
One strange thing that i saw, was that stock default settings on minimum cpu frequency was at 1267mhz
thats why i said mpdecision needs to be disabled, or no matter what you set as cpu speed, itll change it on its own whenever it feels like.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more