Post Reply

[Q] Shortcut Shutdown Screen

OP Theberge43

27th January 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 103
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Hi,

I'm currently using Nova Launcher which has a settings to remap the home button when on the homescreen.
You can map it to a Nova settings, an app or a shortcut.

I currently have it mapped to a Secure Settings shortcut that lock my phone.

The issue I'm having with this settings, it's that it does not respect the delay locking option I have set on my security settings (5 min).

I'm looking for a way to map the home button to something that would shutdown the screen but respect the locking delay like the real power button does.

Any suggestions ?

Thanks.
27th January 2014, 08:27 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,267
 
23,261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Its because you're locking the phone in secure settings. Power button turns of the screen. So its a different action.

Which are you using by the way? Dev admin action > lock device or root actions > power button lock?

Not sure how different they are. Essentially you need to look to turn off screen not lock device

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
27th January 2014, 08:31 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 103
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Its because you're locking the phone in secure settings. Power button turns of the screen. So its a different action.

Which are you using by the way? Dev admin action > lock device or root actions > power button lock?

Not sure how different they are. Essentially you need to look to turn off screen not lock device

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Hi haven't payed for the Pro Upgrade so Power button lock is not available to me.
I know it's because I'm using the Lock Device feature, that because I cannot find another option that simply simulates the power button press.

Can someone confirm to me that "Power button lock" in Secure Settings would provide me with the right feature ?

Thanks.
27th January 2014, 08:36 PM   |  #4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,267
 
23,261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I don't have pro. You're rooted though I guess? Dalvik or ART?

Can use xposed + gravitybox in nova as a shortcut to set device to sleep. This allows the delay to work

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
27th January 2014, 08:44 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 103
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

I don't have pro. You're rooted though I guess? Dalvik or ART?

Can use xposed + gravitybox in nova as a shortcut to set device to sleep. This allows the delay to work

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Yes ! Thanks a lot !
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank