FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

[Q] Signal drop

425 posts
Thanks Meter: 97
 
By surrealjam, Senior Member on 25th February 2014, 02:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi all

I bought a Nexus 5 yesterday. All good but today, the signal (that is, mobile signal) dropped and even with a flight mode on/off and re-scan for networks it did not pick up. In the end, I had to reboot.

It is completely stock 4.4.2 and I'm just wondering if this sort of thing is a common issue. The only thing I can think is I was definitely in a no signal "black spot" for maybe 15 minutes prior to the drop so it's almost like it "froze" and didn't want to pick up the network when it returned.

Thanks
James
 
 
25th February 2014, 04:15 PM |#2  
Liskrig's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Same exact issue, Sir.

It seems to be common, but I have minimized it by installing a custom ROM (I'm using the Cyanogen Nightlies) It is a known issue though from what I have heard.
25th February 2014, 04:50 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
I think Google will fix this issue on the next update,so don't worry,it's known issue,and enjoy your device!
25th February 2014, 04:54 PM |#4  
Quote:
Originally Posted by surrealjam

Hi all

I bought a Nexus 5 yesterday. All good but today, the signal (that is, mobile signal) dropped and even with a flight mode on/off and re-scan for networks it did not pick up. In the end, I had to reboot.

It is completely stock 4.4.2 and I'm just wondering if this sort of thing is a common issue. The only thing I can think is I was definitely in a no signal "black spot" for maybe 15 minutes prior to the drop so it's almost like it "froze" and didn't want to pick up the network when it returned.

Thanks
James

set your "preferred network type" to 2G (even if "data enabled" is not enabled), you will notice that signal will be stronger
The Following User Says Thank You to samersh72 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2014, 05:03 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Thanks for the advice, guys. Like you say - as long as it's a known issue then hopefully a future update will resolve it.

For the "set to 2g only" advice - I only get the option of 3g or 4g? I already set this set to 3g only as I don't have a 4g data contract anyway.
26th February 2014, 02:42 AM |#6  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wichita KS
Thanks Meter: 310
 
More
Try flashing a different radio. It makes tons of difference on signal quality.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes