FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

[Q] Signal drop

425 posts
Thanks Meter: 97
 
By surrealjam, Senior Member on 25th February 2014, 02:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi all

I bought a Nexus 5 yesterday. All good but today, the signal (that is, mobile signal) dropped and even with a flight mode on/off and re-scan for networks it did not pick up. In the end, I had to reboot.

It is completely stock 4.4.2 and I'm just wondering if this sort of thing is a common issue. The only thing I can think is I was definitely in a no signal "black spot" for maybe 15 minutes prior to the drop so it's almost like it "froze" and didn't want to pick up the network when it returned.

Thanks
James
 
 
25th February 2014, 04:15 PM |#2  
Liskrig's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Same exact issue, Sir.

It seems to be common, but I have minimized it by installing a custom ROM (I'm using the Cyanogen Nightlies) It is a known issue though from what I have heard.
25th February 2014, 04:50 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
I think Google will fix this issue on the next update,so don't worry,it's known issue,and enjoy your device!
25th February 2014, 04:54 PM |#4  
Quote:
Originally Posted by surrealjam

Hi all

I bought a Nexus 5 yesterday. All good but today, the signal (that is, mobile signal) dropped and even with a flight mode on/off and re-scan for networks it did not pick up. In the end, I had to reboot.

It is completely stock 4.4.2 and I'm just wondering if this sort of thing is a common issue. The only thing I can think is I was definitely in a no signal "black spot" for maybe 15 minutes prior to the drop so it's almost like it "froze" and didn't want to pick up the network when it returned.

Thanks
James

set your "preferred network type" to 2G (even if "data enabled" is not enabled), you will notice that signal will be stronger
The Following User Says Thank You to samersh72 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2014, 05:03 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Thanks for the advice, guys. Like you say - as long as it's a known issue then hopefully a future update will resolve it.

For the "set to 2g only" advice - I only get the option of 3g or 4g? I already set this set to 3g only as I don't have a 4g data contract anyway.
26th February 2014, 02:42 AM |#6  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wichita KS
Thanks Meter: 310
 
More
Try flashing a different radio. It makes tons of difference on signal quality.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes