Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Yet Another Signal Issue

OP lsmaverick31

17th January 2014, 04:33 PM   |  #11  
lsmaverick31's Avatar
OP Member
Rockaway Beach, NY
Thanks Meter: 10
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonic240

Have you tried disabling LTE and just run with 3G? Not permanently, but for testing purposes.

I haven't tried this yet, gonna do it today. I'm just really hoping it's a SIM card issue, I hate replacing phones. But if it has to be done, then so be it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
17th January 2014, 04:33 PM   |  #12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Signal Issue
In my tmobile no issue He goning will pretty quick.
I enjoy the 3g...
17th January 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Flag Vrhnika
Thanks Meter: 70
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
I have the same issue. The phone just came from my service center which didn't acknowledge the problem. I'm at a loss as to what to do next since they don't want to replace it under warranty (they say that the phone is fine).
17th January 2014, 06:10 PM   |  #14  
lsmaverick31's Avatar
OP Member
Rockaway Beach, NY
Thanks Meter: 10
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpivk

I have the same issue. The phone just came from my service center which didn't acknowledge the problem. I'm at a loss as to what to do next since they don't want to replace it under warranty (they say that the phone is fine).

The problem is that, as long as you have strong service and don't lose signal, the problem is impossible to replicate. That's probably what your service center saw. I downloaded an app today to help monitor how long it takes to regain signal. If the data adds up, I plan to use it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
17th January 2014, 06:19 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Flag Vrhnika
Thanks Meter: 70
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsmaverick31

The problem is that, as long as you have strong service and don't lose signal, the problem is impossible to replicate. That's probably what your service center saw.

The problem occurs even when my phone is standing still. I have it on my desk where it has a five bar reception 24/7. I never moved it at that time and it still failed on me. I even tried a different SIM with same results.
Last edited by bpivk; 17th January 2014 at 06:28 PM.
21st January 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #16  
lsmaverick31's Avatar
OP Member
Rockaway Beach, NY
Thanks Meter: 10
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I have another question for everyone with the T-Mobile network. When I am at home, I have pretty weak signal. It is usually HSPA or, sometimes, HSPA+. However, when I try to switch to 2G in preferred network types, I cannot get any signal whatsoever. How is it possible that my phone can have 3G but cannot connect to 2G?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
21st January 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Signal Issue
I had the same issue. I have great LTE signal at home. When I get to work it's 3G. The phone transitions from LTE to 3G ok. When I go into the middle of the building I loose the signal completely. When I go back outside the phone never reacquires 3G. I was able to duplicate this several times.

I did a factory reset which didn't work. I called T-Mobile support. They were no help. I went into T-Mobile store and asked if they would swap out the SIM. Bingo.

New SIM card solved my problem.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes