Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,088 Members 39,252 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] sim card

Tip us?
 
stebomurkn420
Old
(Last edited by stebomurkn420; 13th June 2014 at 07:16 AM.)
#1  
stebomurkn420's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 493
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default [Q] sim card

My nexus 5 will not read any sim card at the moment. I flashed back to stock 4.4.3 and ever since that, no matter what carrier sim card I put in, I get no call reception. The phone is recognizing there is a sim in because I flashed a custom ROM and whenever I put in a sim from T-Mobile,att, etc., there APN settings come up. I have no idea what's going on. I am no noob. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using XDA Free mobile app
 
rootSU
Old
#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,367
Posts: 22,396
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Maybe try and fastboot flash a stock cache.img

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
stebomurkn420
Old
#3  
stebomurkn420's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 493
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Maybe try and fastboot flash a stock cache.img

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Tried that, still no cigar... This blows my mind.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using XDA Free mobile app
 
rootSU
Old
#4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,367
Posts: 22,396
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by stebomurkn420 View Post
Tried that, still no cigar... This blows my mind.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using XDA Free mobile app
Maybe a hardware fault then. Assume you have IMEI etc visible in settings > About phone > Status
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
stebomurkn420
Old
#5  
stebomurkn420's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 493
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Maybe a hardware fault then. Assume you have IMEI etc visible in settings > About phone > Status
Yessir.... Everything is visible... IMEI, my phone number, signal strength, etc...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using XDA Free mobile app
 
rootSU
Old
#6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,367
Posts: 22,396
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by stebomurkn420 View Post
Yessir.... Everything is visible... IMEI, my phone number, signal strength, etc...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using XDA Free mobile app
Have a word with google / LG
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
stebomurkn420
Old
#7  
stebomurkn420's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 493
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Have a word with google / LG
..... Gasp. Lol

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using XDA Free mobile app
 
Primokorn
Old
#8  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,202
Posts: 4,072
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Annecy

 
DONATE TO ME
Restore a nandroid if you have one. It should fix it.
Flashing factory images didn't help me to recover the network signal and to detect the sim card.
Nexus 5 | Ask any questionDark XDAGetting started on XDA

LGE Nexus 5 | TWRP Recovery | OptiPurity | Uber!!!


Quote:
Searching can take less time than waiting for an answer
The Following User Says Thank You to Primokorn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
stebomurkn420
Old
#9  
stebomurkn420's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 493
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn View Post
Restore a nandroid if you have one. It should fix it.
Flashing factory images didn't help me to recover the network signal and to detect the sim card.
I have no nandroid to turn to in this case. I don't know what to do... :/

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
exb0
Old
#10  
exb0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,762
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 3.137136,101.594663
I had the same problem with my n4 and I brought it to LG for RMA. It's pretty much the only thing you can do.
Current Devices :
LG Nexus 5
LG Nexus 4
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Sony W810


Ex Devices :
HTC Dream - SOLD
HTC HD2 - Water Damaged :'(
LG Nexus 4 - Stolen </3
HTC Sensation - Retired
Nexus One - Retired
ZTE V9 - Retired


My Google Plus
My Website
Transparent StatusBar Mod Thanks to ZduneX25
Register for Dropbox here

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more