PhotoMath: A Math Beginner’s Dream App

more

Leaked Galaxy S6 Apps Hit the Forums

more

Fix Untinted Recent Panels on Lollipop

more

Console OS Brings Android to Your PC

more
Post Reply

Why does Skype have a massive cache?

OP jkcarp94

3rd June 2014, 04:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
I was cleaning up my device and noticed as I was cleaning cache files that Skype has a massive 1.44GB cache on my device. I don't use it. I have it for emergencies but never use it. Why does Skype build up such a ridiculous cache size?
3rd June 2014, 06:11 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,302
 
3,227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalanjkcarp

I was cleaning up my device and noticed as I was cleaning cache files that Skype has a massive 1.44GB cache on my device. I don't use it. I have it for emergencies but never use it. Why does Skype build up such a ridiculous cache size?

It's lazy programming. You're probably looking for some technical answer, but it really is that simple this time.
3rd June 2014, 06:25 PM   |  #3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 15,346
 
26,871 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Because it's Microsoft

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2014, 10:20 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 220
 
831 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalanjkcarp

I was cleaning up my device and noticed as I was cleaning cache files that Skype has a massive 1.44GB cache on my device. I don't use it. I have it for emergencies but never use it. Why does Skype build up such a ridiculous cache size?

Likely because it is now copying your conversation history from other devices onto your phone (so you can pick up on previous conversations)
3rd June 2014, 10:41 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Never used Skype on any device. It is there for emergencies only. I have no idea what it is doing.
4th June 2014, 01:52 AM   |  #6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,302
 
3,227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalanjkcarp

Never used Skype on any device. It is there for emergencies only. I have no idea what it is doing.

Greenify.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes