Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Slimport Resolution/Density Question

OP jerkyxi3

5th March 2014, 02:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
I connected my phone to an older monitor via slimport->hdmi->dvi. works great except the native resolution for the monitor is 1680x1050. so the image is scaled small on screen. I was able to change resolution via console "wm size" command so that it now fills the screen and changed the density so text is the appropriate size, but the notification bar, nav bar, and mouse pointer are huge taking up tons of real estate.

Wanted to know if anyone has a suggestion of an app that will make things fit better when i connect to the monitor and easily revert once I disconnect. I really like being able to use my phone as a mini computer that I can connect whenever I want.

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
6th March 2014, 06:04 PM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Bump

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
6th March 2014, 06:11 PM   |  #3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,906
 
25,127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
You can change the density of apps individually using xposed + "app settings" module. So you could lower the density further on systemui for example.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 04:29 AM   |  #4  
dave2metz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clearwater, Florida
Thanks Meter: 191
 
1,208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I bought the official SlimPort a couple months ago and it works great. As far as the picture fitting better, I use MX Player for all video. It has a ton of options for display size and other tweaks. Using a monitor is probably why you are having issues with display size. I have 1 newer HDTV and a 5 year old HDTV. I get 1080p with my SlimPort & MX Player. Does it have the same display issues on a TV?

NEXUS 5
7th March 2014, 07:29 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Yeah works great on my TV but I have it connected to a monitor because I use it for homework and random emailing with a Bluetooth most and keyboard.

My ideal situation would be that when I connect it to the slimport it would automatically switch resolution and DPI to kind of a desktop mode.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
10th March 2014, 09:56 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Any other suggestions?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
22nd April 2014, 08:07 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
I agree, using the Nexus as a substitute for a computer like you describe is something I definitely would like to do too. Any advice regarding automatic switch of resolution and DPI would be greatly appreciated.
24th April 2014, 05:05 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Still nothing. 😥

Sent from my SGP511 using xda app-developers app
25th April 2014, 08:23 AM   |  #9  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,906
 
25,127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Dpi system wide is controlled via the build prop so a reboot is required to apply it.

With root, i could easily write a Tasker task that will edit the build prop and reboot the device. Anything above that wouldn't be possible

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes