LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Slimport

OP Cheetah1024

24th January 2014, 10:58 AM   |  #1  
Cheetah1024's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Alright people: I don't know, if this is the right place, but I'll just post here...
So I recieved this last week and tried it out immediately... But: it doesn't work properly. I got it to work for 2 seconds but then the TV always says 'no signal'... I tried it on 2 different TVs but it's the same on both. It also doesn't work on my nexus 7 (2012) stock, rooted and also not on a complete stock nexus 7 (2012). So I want to know, if i need to enable something of if it is a hardware bug and also if anyone else has this problem.

Thanks to u guys who help me


Sent from my Nexus 5
'You'll thank me later'
24th January 2014, 11:23 AM   |  #2  
xator91's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Palermo
Thanks Meter: 596
 
685 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Mmh i don't know personally, but i have at home an MHL cable i want to know if i can mod the cable to work on Nexus 5

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
24th January 2014, 12:10 PM   |  #3  
pgptheoriginal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Mhl is not compatible with any new Nexus devices: it's used by Samsung only so it will work with the Galaxy Nexus.

Slimport adaptors are compatible with Nexus 4, 5 and 7 (2013 only), so its normal that you can't get your 2012 nexus 7 to work.

Instead, it should be perfectly working with a Nexus 5, since no previous configuration is required.
In my case, the first time I connected my N5 to my HDTV via Slimport adaptor it took about ten seconds to see the home screen of my phone, but since then, it has always worked just after connecting it.

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5 utilizzando Tapatalk
24th January 2014, 01:08 PM   |  #4  
Cheetah1024's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgptheoriginal

Mhl is not compatible with any new Nexus devices: it's used by Samsung only so it will work with the Galaxy Nexus.

Slimport adaptors are compatible with Nexus 4, 5 and 7 (2013 only), so its normal that you can't get your 2012 nexus 7 to work.

Instead, it should be perfectly working with a Nexus 5, since no previous configuration is required.
In my case, the first time I connected my N5 to my HDTV via Slimport adaptor it took about ten seconds to see the home screen of my phone, but since then, it has always worked just after connecting it.

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5 utilizzando Tapatalk

Thanks, I forgot about the nexus 7... :P well, i think i have to try it again, maybe i didn't wait long enough... Again thanks!

Sent from my Nexus 5
'You'll thank me later'
24th January 2014, 03:36 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
I didn't have to wait very long to get an image, it usually takes no more than 2-3 seconds. Maybe the adapter is defective?

Here's a demo showing slimport on a nexus 5:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnR3...e_gdata_player
24th January 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
I always have an issue when connecting my gf's S4 to her TV via an MHL adapter. I have to make sure the connections are tight and eliminate alot of movement, PITA!

But I guess just give everything a good push, make sure connections are really good and lay it on a flat surface to see if movement is affecting the connection. The adapter your using might be flimsy too
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes