Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more
Post Reply

Slimport

OP Cheetah1024

24th January 2014, 09:58 AM   |  #1  
Cheetah1024's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Alright people: I don't know, if this is the right place, but I'll just post here...
So I recieved this last week and tried it out immediately... But: it doesn't work properly. I got it to work for 2 seconds but then the TV always says 'no signal'... I tried it on 2 different TVs but it's the same on both. It also doesn't work on my nexus 7 (2012) stock, rooted and also not on a complete stock nexus 7 (2012). So I want to know, if i need to enable something of if it is a hardware bug and also if anyone else has this problem.

Thanks to u guys who help me


Sent from my Nexus 5
'You'll thank me later'
24th January 2014, 10:23 AM   |  #2  
xator91's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Palermo
Thanks Meter: 596
 
679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Mmh i don't know personally, but i have at home an MHL cable i want to know if i can mod the cable to work on Nexus 5

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
24th January 2014, 11:10 AM   |  #3  
pgptheoriginal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Mhl is not compatible with any new Nexus devices: it's used by Samsung only so it will work with the Galaxy Nexus.

Slimport adaptors are compatible with Nexus 4, 5 and 7 (2013 only), so its normal that you can't get your 2012 nexus 7 to work.

Instead, it should be perfectly working with a Nexus 5, since no previous configuration is required.
In my case, the first time I connected my N5 to my HDTV via Slimport adaptor it took about ten seconds to see the home screen of my phone, but since then, it has always worked just after connecting it.

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5 utilizzando Tapatalk
24th January 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #4  
Cheetah1024's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgptheoriginal

Mhl is not compatible with any new Nexus devices: it's used by Samsung only so it will work with the Galaxy Nexus.

Slimport adaptors are compatible with Nexus 4, 5 and 7 (2013 only), so its normal that you can't get your 2012 nexus 7 to work.

Instead, it should be perfectly working with a Nexus 5, since no previous configuration is required.
In my case, the first time I connected my N5 to my HDTV via Slimport adaptor it took about ten seconds to see the home screen of my phone, but since then, it has always worked just after connecting it.

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5 utilizzando Tapatalk

Thanks, I forgot about the nexus 7... :P well, i think i have to try it again, maybe i didn't wait long enough... Again thanks!

Sent from my Nexus 5
'You'll thank me later'
24th January 2014, 02:36 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
I didn't have to wait very long to get an image, it usually takes no more than 2-3 seconds. Maybe the adapter is defective?

Here's a demo showing slimport on a nexus 5:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnR3...e_gdata_player
24th January 2014, 03:38 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
I always have an issue when connecting my gf's S4 to her TV via an MHL adapter. I have to make sure the connections are tight and eliminate alot of movement, PITA!

But I guess just give everything a good push, make sure connections are really good and lay it on a flat surface to see if movement is affecting the connection. The adapter your using might be flimsy too
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank