FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] [SOLVED] No EFS backup. IMEI lost.

2nd April 2014, 09:58 PM |#11  
jamal2367's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Münster
Thanks Meter: 6,766
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7alvi

I'm flashing stock image but it's kinda stuck on
archive does not contain boot.sig
archive does not contain recovery.sig

It's been like 10 minutes since that. I'm on on old Pentium 4 PC so maybe it's taking time? I dunno!

The 2 lines is are normaly

Try again with admin rights
Last edited by jamal2367; 2nd April 2014 at 10:01 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to jamal2367 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
2nd April 2014, 10:00 PM |#12  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 203
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7alvi

I'm flashing stock image but it's kinda stuck on
archive does not contain boot.sig
archive does not contain recovery.sig

It's been like 10 minutes since that. I'm on on old Pentium 4 PC so maybe it's taking time? I dunno!

That could be because you extracted the image-hammerhead xxxxx.zip file. dont extract it. it should be there like it is on this picture
The Following User Says Thank You to GUGUITOMTG4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 10:07 PM |#13  
7alvi's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kanpur
Thanks Meter: 1,297
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Just because the symptoms appear to indicate that you've screwed your efs partition,.doesn't mean you actually have.

Bad /cache and /data have been known to exhibit the same symptoms and flashing cache or returning to stock are known fixes if that's the case

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I officially pronounce this phone as un-brickable. Yes it's fixed. IMEI, baseband siganls everything is back... @rootSU I owe you a beer man. I can't emphasize how ****lessly scared I was...thanx a lot!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 7alvi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 10:07 PM |#14  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,957
 
More
No worries

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2015, 05:54 PM |#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just pumping this thread.

I've gone through a few steps but have ran into a snag.

Heres the synopsis;

My device was randomly shutting down while charging so I decided to factory reset to see if that helped.
When I did the the device entered a boot loop and when I went into recovery it would say can't mount cache etc.
I tried re flashing 5.0.1 Lrx22c but again it got stuck in a boot loop.
I managed to flash 4.4.4 and the device finally turns on.
The only problem is that the phone appears to be without any network connection. Google playstore cannot open and crash's and so does the camera and gallery applications. Adding a sim card does nothing to help.
I'm not sure how to fix this problem and I'm at a point where I need to ask for help. I'm Canadian and bought the device through one of our providers, Rogers, and am starting to think that there is a specific set of 'roger' img's that I need to flash and not the ones from the developers site.
Any input would be much appreciated.
16th January 2015, 10:03 PM |#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Bump bump ^^
17th January 2015, 02:59 AM |#17  
ldubs's Avatar
Senior Member
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
There is no such thing as carrier specific factory images. Did you try reflashing the radio, or a different radio? Remove and reinsert Sim? Might be hardware issue otherwise ..

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
4th February 2015, 07:38 AM |#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
At my wit's end.
I realize it's been 2 weeks since you posted but, in the hope that you are subscribed still Radioman66, I'm curious if you did ever manage to fix/reinject your IMEI; I'm Canadian too btw, though I bought my Nexus 5 through Google Play. I've tried flashing stock everything: bootloader, radio, boot, system, cache, userdata via fastboot; only then did my phone reboot properly, but it still has a habit of crashing/rebooting every so often. No IMEI & no cellular reception thus far, so I can only conclude that there is some data corruption at play here. Fortunately it was easy to find my unique IMEI via a sticker on the inside of the back cover of my Nexus 5, for those who aren't aware.

So I'm in the opinion that the issues of bootloops and my IMEI corruption (dialling *#06# on the dialer calls up a bold IMEI header but no number whatsoever) first occurred when my battery drained to zero. I was using a custom rom at the time, Optipop Dark Deodex with f2fs formatted data and cache partitions, + Multirom & multirom compatible TWRP. I'm at a loss for why the EFS partition and thus IMEI would even be accessed by the phone for writing/reading or how a corruption of the partition could even occur. Perhaps I was receiving a text message right at that very moment it turned off? Perhaps f2fs is to blame, who really knows...main thing is my IMEI is corrupted and I'm left with a smart brick, it being no longer a smart phone.

Anyway, long story short it's been like 2 days of searching around but I think this free tool "Setup DFS 15.01.17.0.zip" at cdmatool dot com (can't post link as a newbie so replace dot with a period) may be the real deal; it's possible to download it without registering i.e. demo mode ( which makes you wait tens of seconds between operations). Despite my general comfort with adb, fastboot, cmd tools in general, the CDMAtool's manual is full of stuff and acronyms I don't really know about yet, like COM Ports and what not but I'm hoping to soon understand this tool and will report back my failures/successes. If anyone would be kind enough to perhaps walk me through what I would need to do, I'd be super thankful!!!t

Welp, cheers to not even knowing about the existence of ESN/EFS/IMEI before this unfortunate juncture LMAO--I will definitely make sure to backup my EFS partitions before flashing custom roms from now on...
Last edited by aNANOmous; 4th February 2015 at 08:43 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank