Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

SOLVED: Slide Screen lock never activates

OP aagha

18th February 2014, 02:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
SOLVED: Turns out I'm an ass hound. I have the No Lock app it turns out that it was somehow set so locking was disabled. Re-enabling locking fixed this problem and solved my hours of wasted time.

Original problem:

New, 32GB Nexus 5, rooted, franco kernel (v33) and have GravityBox installed.

This small issue has been bugging me for the last couple of days: It seems that when I have the Screen lock set to Slide, and the phone is powered off or left sleeping (for hours), turning it back on does not present me with the slide lock as it should.
  • When I got it, it did. (worked fine)
  • When I rooted, it did.
  • When I installed GravityBox, it did.
  • When I installed LightFlow, it did.
  • When I installed the franco kernel, it did. Then it stopped.

Not being sure if the franco kernel was the issue, the first thing I did was boot into Safe Mode and found that I was having the same problem, allowing me to, I think, exclude the franco kernel as a culprit.

Since then, I've tried all of the following--each of which was followed by a soft reboot:
  • Deactivated GravityBox (but did not uninstall).
  • Both froze (w/ TitaniumBackup) and uninstalled LightFlow.
  • Turned off Accessibility for all apps.

The only hint I have that some app might be causing the issue is this: When I restart/reboot, the slide screen lock is there. Subsequent (quick) screen power off's and on's present the slide screen lock! After about 10 seconds though--and trying to turn off and on the screen and getting the slide screen lock--the screen lock stops working, indicating that some app is starting up a few seconds post-boot, that's causing the slide screenlock from working properly.

It should be noted that if I set another screen lock, like pattern, it works as expected.

I'm completely stumped as to what might be going on and would appreciate any help debugging.

Update
I've been running adb logcat and notice the following when I turn the screen on (when screen lock = slide is set):

Quote:

V/KeyguardServiceDelegate(24936): onScreenTurnedOn(showListener = com.android.internal.policy.impl.PhoneWindowManage r$17@43495628)
D/SurfaceFlinger(24444): Screen acquired, type=0 flinger=0x2a007450
D/qdhwcomposer(24444): hwc_blank: Unblanking display: 0
I/PowerManagerService(24936): Waking up from sleep...
V/KeyguardServiceDelegate(24936): **** SHOWN CALLED ****
I/WindowManager(24936): No lock screen! windowToken=null

In contrast, when I have Slide lock = pattern set, I see the following:

Quote:

V/KeyguardServiceDelegate(24936): onScreenTurnedOn(showListener = com.android.internal.policy.impl.PhoneWindowManage r$17@43693fa8)
D/SurfaceFlinger(24444): Screen acquired, type=0 flinger=0x2a007450
D/qdhwcomposer(24444): hwc_blank: Unblanking display: 0
I/PowerManagerService(24936): Waking up from sleep...
V/KeyguardServiceDelegate(24936): **** SHOWN CALLED ****
I/WindowManager(24936): Lock screen displayed!

Update 2:
Solution posted on top.
Last edited by aagha; 18th February 2014 at 05:02 AM. Reason: solved
The Following User Says Thank You to aagha For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 02:54 AM   |  #2  
cc16177's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 196
 
690 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
The only thing I could think of would be in your security/lock screen settings it may be set to only "lock" when you press the power button or something like that.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
18th February 2014, 04:48 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc16177

The only thing I could think of would be in your security/lock screen settings it may be set to only "lock" when you press the power button or something like that.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

When Screen lock = Slide, that's not even an option. Only applies if you have Screen lock = pattern or another.
18th February 2014, 05:08 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Note: Solved. Please see top of original post.
18th February 2014, 05:45 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by aagha

Note: Solved. Please see top of original post.

good sharing. thanks a lot mate
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
screen lock, slide
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes