5,603,646 Members 36,881 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Speed test issue connected to wifi

Tip us?
 
rrumi001
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Speed test issue connected to wifi

So when connected to wifi using our home network, I get 19-20 download and 6 upload on my nexus from the speed test. But I when I do it on my laptop, I get 35 and 6. It seems like it doesn't want to go above 20. Any ideas?
 
masterprotocol0097
Old
#2  
masterprotocol0097's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 120
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: The motherland of Technology, Ethicks, Science, Literature...
Drive hardware restrictions...

Every phone has its network restrictions as its hardware is negligible in front of pcs..

The networks max. speed that can be used on android is 3.6 MBps to 30 MBps as a range...


Hence this could be d reason...
NOT FOR NOOBS...!

CURRENT DEVICES ;


MY CONTRIBUTION TO XDA DEVELOPERS FORUM


 
rrumi001
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterprotocol0097 View Post
Every phone has its network restrictions as its hardware is negligible in front of pcs..

The networks max. speed that can be used on android is 3.6 MBps to 30 MBps as a range...


Hence this could be d reason...
It seems other people are getting up to 50 mb on their Nexus 5...it seems quite odd to be honest.
 
markdapimp
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 304
Posts: 1,194
Join Date: Nov 2013
Is your Laptop on wireless or LAN, generally mobile devices have wifi powersaving mode
such as here

1st one is my laptop
2nd one is my nexus 7 1st gen and both show the same issues you listed
to solve this change the wifi channel mode to 2.4Ghz if your router is on 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz if its on 5
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	d4bc83154fdd64d8fbaa1426625c0dba.png
Views:	39
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	2468045  
Devices: Nexus 5 (Sold) 1X
Nexus 5
HTC One
The Following User Says Thank You to markdapimp For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PhilipTD
Old
#5  
PhilipTD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 349
Posts: 1,681
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp View Post
... change the wifi channel mode to 2.4Ghz...
That did it for me, man.

Sent from my Nexus 5

NEXUS 5 D820 STOCK KK442 FK47 DALVIK XPOSED TWRP2734

 
 
PhilipTD
Old
#6  
PhilipTD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 349
Posts: 1,681
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NYC
But I still don't know why I can't connect to the 5GHz band. My N7 does, no problem.

NEXUS 5 D820 STOCK KK442 FK47 DALVIK XPOSED TWRP2734

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more

Verizon Droid DNA to Receive 4.4.2 KitKat + Sense 5.5 OTA This Thursday

The HTC Droid DNAis Verizon’s close cousin to the JapaneseHTC … more

Lucid Browser is Small, Lightweight, and Open Source

If there is one application category that certainly isn’t lacking in Android,and … more