Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Sprint Nexus 5

OP scoot0073

21st February 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #1  
scoot0073's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atl. Ga.
Thanks Meter: 79
 
391 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Can this phone be used on Straight Talk via Sim card?

If so will it be carrier unlocked like my GP Nexus 5 or will I need to have it unlocked?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
21st February 2014, 09:41 PM   |  #2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,792
 
27,351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoot0073

Can this phone be used on Straight Talk via Sim card?

If so will it be carrier unlocked like my GP Nexus 5 or will I need to have it unlocked?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

all nexus 5 are unlocked, no matter what sprint employees tell you. and with a sim card, they will also work on tmobiles and atts network,. so yea, pop in the right sim and itll work on straight talk.
The Following User Says Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2014, 11:19 PM   |  #3  
scoot0073's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atl. Ga.
Thanks Meter: 79
 
391 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Thanks homie

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
22nd February 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I dont think that will work. i put a tmobile sim and nothing happened. no calls could be made or received.
22nd February 2014, 01:19 AM   |  #5  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
McHenry Il
Thanks Meter: 225
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JagoRacing

I dont think that will work. i put a tmobile sim and nothing happened. no calls could be made or received.

When I put my sprint sim in nothing happened either... than I went online and activated it and all functions worked

Sent from my GT-N5110 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
22nd February 2014, 11:54 AM   |  #6  
jball's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amber
Thanks Meter: 255
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I received my Nexus 5 before leaving to work and on my lunch brake I took my full size AT&T Sim card out of my S2 and trimmed it to fit,popped it in and works great.I did need to activate the IMEI the next day and have had strong LTE

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes