Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] starting only from bootloader

OP hoomel

22nd April 2014, 11:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Hello,

I am having a rather odd problem with my Nexus 5.

Up until today, I was running ParanoidAndroid 4 Beta 4 with FrancoKernel r47.
Today, a ROM update was released, so I downloaded and flashed the new Beta 5 ROM and current GApps + HellsCore Kernel.
Of course I wiped Cache and Dalvik cache beforehand.

After doing that, the phone does not execute boot commands properly. From the power menu, selecting to boot recovery, the screen turns black and nothing happens. I then switch to the bootloader with the buttons. Starting recovery from there works fine.
Same happens with a normal reboot from both Android and CWMR. The screen turns black, nothing happens. Again, from the bootloader the phone starts fine.

Did I do something wrong with flashing the zips? Or s there any other reason for this behavior?

Also, the HellsCore kernel does not seem to install at all. Tried flashing it a couple of times, but after reboot, the stock kernel is installed.
If someone also has an idea for that, let me know. Otherwise I will ask at HellsCore thread.

Regards,
hoomel
25th April 2014, 02:37 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Göd
Thanks Meter: 708
 
1,140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Redownload the zips, and flash them. If not works change to twrp and try again.

The rebooting issue can be a bug of the cwmr and your current android system.

Tapatalk-kal küldve az én Nexus 5-el
29th April 2014, 01:03 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I have now redownloaded PA Beta 5 and the corresponding GApps and flashed them again after installing TWRP recovery.

Unfortunately without any change, still no reboot to anywhere without connecting power and doing the magic-button-combo

Would a complete factory reset do any good? Or are ther maybe any remains maybe from hellscore kernel or franco which need removal somehow?
29th April 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Göd
Thanks Meter: 708
 
1,140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoomel

I have now redownloaded PA Beta 5 and the corresponding GApps and flashed them again after installing TWRP recovery.

Unfortunately without any change, still no reboot to anywhere without connecting power and doing the magic-button-combo

Would a complete factory reset do any good? Or are ther maybe any remains maybe from hellscore kernel or franco which need removal somehow?

A factory reset is always good when a rom behaves oddly after an upgrade.

Tapatalk-kal küldve az én Nexus 5-el
1st May 2014, 08:28 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitdomo

A factory reset is always good when a rom behaves oddly after an upgrade.

Tapatalk-kal küldve az én Nexus 5-el

Just did a factory reset, reinstalled everything including the recovery.

Unfortunately, nothing changed, I still can't reboot like normally.

Any ideas, because I just ran out of them
1st May 2014, 08:35 PM   |  #6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,475
 
26,767 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoomel

Just did a factory reset, reinstalled everything including the recovery.

Unfortunately, nothing changed, I still can't reboot like normally.

Any ideas, because I just ran out of them

could just be a derp in their last build. there are many ways to get to recovery without using that option in the power menu. for example, there are many free reboot recovery widgets available for free at the play store, or typing reboot recovery into a free terminal emulator.
1st May 2014, 08:44 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

could just be a derp in their last build. there are many ways to get to recovery without using that option in the power menu. for example, there are many free reboot recovery widgets available for free at the play store, or typing reboot recovery into a free terminal emulator.

I am suspecting that, too. But would that also impact normal startup? If I shutdown the phone via the power menu, I can't even start it up via the power button only. I have to attach the power cord and force the bootloader startup. Same goes with rebooting (normal, recovery and bootloader), rebooting from recovery and as I mentioned, the shutdown and start.

Is this really handled by the ROM?
1st May 2014, 08:53 PM   |  #8  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,475
 
26,767 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoomel

I am suspecting that, too. But would that also impact normal startup? If I shutdown the phone via the power menu, I can't even start it up via the power button only. I have to attach the power cord and force the bootloader startup. Same goes with rebooting (normal, recovery and bootloader), rebooting from recovery and as I mentioned, the shutdown and start.

Is this really handled by the ROM?

besides that, does the power button work? yea, the rom/kernel handle the startup of the phone. the recovery itself will have a separate kernel. you can always try a different rom to make sure that all is still working like it should(or an earlier build).
3rd May 2014, 12:34 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

besides that, does the power button work? yea, the rom/kernel handle the startup of the phone. the recovery itself will have a separate kernel. you can always try a different rom to make sure that all is still working like it should(or an earlier build).

The power button works without a flaw. Waking phone, calling power menu - everything.

I just flashed LiquidSmooth for testing, behavior does not change.

But one thing I just noticed: I created a backup before flashing LiquidSmooth. Restoring the backup file, I saw that the date of the backup was totally off. It showed February 22nd, 1970

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes