Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Stock Nandroid Stuck On Boot

OP BaumerS4

17th April 2014, 02:35 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
So this has happened to my now twice when trying to revert back to stock...

Starting with a bone stock N5, I unlock the bootloader (I guess technically it was already unlocked the second time I had this problem), then push TWRP over via fastboot. At this point, I do a Nandroid of "stock" and save it. Then I flash PACman ROM and run with that for a bit, one time with the Elemental kernel, the other time with whatever kernel PAC comes with.

So in an attempt to go back to stock due to some LTE issues with PAC, I boot into TWRP, select restore, then choose my original "stock" nandroid. It restores fine as well as I can tell with TWRP, but when I go to boot it just gets stuck on the Google color splash screen (the dots coming together).

Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong here. I don't have any problem loading any of my PAC nandroids at this point to get back up and running, but I'd rather not have to go to my computer every time to push a factory image.
17th April 2014, 02:49 AM   |  #2  
Darth's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,958
 
13,679 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Make sure you have a good, known working nandroid....then try wiping first. System, data and the caches. NOT internal SD obviously. Then restore. If you have issues still, restore your known good nandroid.

That's worked for me in the past with restore issues.

Sent from my N5, N7, Moto X, G Tab 3 or S2.....
17th April 2014, 05:54 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj2112

Make sure you have a good, known working nandroid....then try wiping first. System, data and the caches. NOT internal SD obviously. Then restore. If you have issues still, restore your known good nandroid.

That's worked for me in the past with restore issues.

Sent from my N5, N7, Moto X, G Tab 3 or S2.....

How do I know if it's a good nandroid until I go to flash it and it doesn't work? Tried it again tonight after making sure to wipe everything in TWRP, but it got stuck on the colored dots splash screen again for a good 20+ minutes until I nandroid'd back to PAC. Do I need to be on a certain runtime?
17th April 2014, 05:59 AM   |  #4  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,453
 
4,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Make sure you've wiped everything in recovery (data/cache/dalvic)... Then format system.

Now try restoring the stock nandrioid backup and see if it works..

There's no way of knowing whether the backup is good or not. If it had some md5 issues, it would have been displayed on the screen.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes