Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Stock vs. AOSP?

28th May 2014, 11:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 8
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
I'm curious- are there any other differences between Google stock and AOSP other than Google stock removing the AOSP Browser/MMS/Music/Dialer apps? I'm mostly asking about lower level stuff, as on the outside they look perfectly alike.
28th May 2014, 11:18 PM   |  #2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,703
 
28,854 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
well, current aosp has much more updated code than stock.
29th May 2014, 06:56 AM   |  #3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,118
 
27,651 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

well, current aosp has much more updated code than stock.

Yep and this regularly is the case it seems.
Unlike other oems who will update their proprietary frameworks / base without an Android version update, Google only seem to release at the major milestones... 4.4.1, 4.4.2

I moved to aosp to get a fix which I had been waiting on stock for too long on.

So where as its true that the Nexus gets its updates first (numbered versions) it's potentially the opposite way round for small fixes.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
29th May 2014, 02:33 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,091
 
2,884 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Yep and this regularly is the case it seems.
Unlike other oems who will update their proprietary frameworks / base without an Android version update, Google only seem to release at the major milestones... 4.4.1, 4.4.2

I moved to aosp to get a fix which I had been waiting on stock for too long on.

So where as its true that the Nexus gets its updates first (numbered versions) it's potentially the opposite way round for small fixes.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

what fix was this?
29th May 2014, 03:23 PM   |  #5  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,118
 
27,651 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepius

what fix was this?

It was pre 4.4.2 to fix a bug where only one floating window could show at a time.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes