5,598,542 Members 44,759 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Stuck on bootloop

Tip us?
 
mvsn
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Stuck on bootloop

OMG I must be the first one to get stuck in a bootloop I feel like such an idiot. I was googling and came across a toolkit by SkipSoft... it had the nexus 5 in it, so I used it... i managed to unlock the bootloader, install the custom recovery.. the phone rebooted and boots into CWM-based Recovery v6.0.4.4... but it bootloops ... when i try to mount i get the message error mounting /data skipping format... i cannot seem to mount the phone in order to push a rom to the phone... when i mount /data it says error mounting data

might anyone have a suggestion, i would try appreciate it

(i'd like to install the hammerhead rom. )
 
mistahseller
Old
#2  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 167
Posts: 739
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
Just stay calm

This is to completely start over: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2513701

Hammerhead is the codename of the device like the nexus 4 is "mako"

edit: CWM is fine, I suggest TWRP but that is just me. I used CWM on my nexus 4 and switched to TWRP on nexus 5 and will not go back.

This might help also its a toolkit: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2509428
The Following User Says Thank You to mistahseller For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mvsn
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller View Post
Just stay calm

This is to completely start over: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2513701

Hammerhead is the codename of the device like the nexus 4 is "mako"

edit: CWM is fine, I suggest TWRP but that is just me. I used CWM on my nexus 4 and switched to TWRP on nexus 5 and will not go back.

This might help also its a toolkit: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2509428
Wow, that first line helped a lot! Thank you. the toolkit I was trying wouldnt work for me to restore back to factory, but the toolkit you suggested worked perfectly. I cannot thank you enough. That was the strange thing, when I used the toolkit and selected TWRP for some reason CWM got pushed instead.. so i was like ok thats fine, i'll just mount and install the rom and worry about it after...

so happy this worked, thank you Sir.
 
Saint Dave
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 27
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Glasgow
My nexus 5 just closed down with no warning while I was on twitter , now its showing the error message about all processes .score , gapps, store etc has stopped , its reset itself back to factory but won't load at all. Tried to do a factory reset and it doesn't seem to be taking , just going back to unfortunately , ______has stopped. Anyone help ?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium HD app
 
mistahseller
Old
(Last edited by mistahseller; 24th November 2013 at 03:09 PM.)
#5  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 167
Posts: 739
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
Yeah that happened to me once on my nexus 4. I loaded the jellybam ROM and my phone just took a dump on itself.

Do a factory reset, wipe the dalvik cache, wipe the partition cache, or ART if you are using that and then load back into your "stock rooted" I assume ROM.

Use this to start over it seems to work for everyone and it is not hard. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2509428

I suggest this ROM, it is stock, with busy box, deodexed etc. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2508194
 
jd1639
Old
#6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2255
Posts: 7,383
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint Dave View Post
My nexus 5 just closed down with no warning while I was on twitter , now its showing the error message about all processes .score , gapps, store etc has stopped , its reset itself back to factory but won't load at all. Tried to do a factory reset and it doesn't seem to be taking , just going back to unfortunately , ______has stopped. Anyone help ?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium HD app
I would recommend you don't use a tool kit. While they may work you never know for sure what they're doing unless you dive into them. I'd recommend http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=47156064
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes