Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

SuperSU needs to update binary

OP brichardson1991

4th June 2014, 11:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Bagshot, Surrey, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 7
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Just updated my Nexus 5 using the OTA thread that went through fine,

I then proceeded to update SuperSU using the following link: http://download.chainfire.eu/supersu which was the update v1.99r3.

Using TWRP I flashed this and root is working for most apps i have tested: titanium, adblock, root explorer. So root is back.

However whenever I load up SuperSU I keep getting the following message: "The SU binary needs to be updated. Continue?"

So of course I have done this and let it use TWRP to flash. Let the phone boot up and upgrade the app as it needed. However on next load up of the app it asks to do the same yet again.

I feel as though I'm forgetting something as it's been a while since I've done this. ( use to live on flashing when i had my SII)

My Nexus is Stock ROM. CF-Auto Rooted. TWRP Recovery. Nothing else is modified.

Help would be appreciated, even though I don't go into supersu all that often anyways.

Cheers all.
4th June 2014, 11:10 AM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,848
 
25,054 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
What if you upgrade it using the "normal" method?
4th June 2014, 11:12 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Bagshot, Surrey, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 7
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
If I do a normal install i get the following:

Installation failed!

Please reboot and try again.
4th June 2014, 12:02 PM   |  #4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,848
 
25,054 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brichardson1991

If I do a normal install i get the following:

Installation failed!

Please reboot and try again.

That message is usually indicative of not having root in the first place. What if you flash it via TWRP then do it normally? Could TWRP be removing it with its "Fix root" option?

What about other recoveries? Do they allow root to stay?
4th June 2014, 12:15 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Bagshot, Surrey, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 7
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

That message is usually indicative of not having root in the first place. What if you flash it via TWRP then do it normally? Could TWRP be removing it with its "Fix root" option?

What about other recoveries? Do they allow root to stay?

How odd like I said my apps are all receiving their root permissions...

What file would we be talking about flashing? The Temp one SuperSU makes to flash when you click install via TWPR?

I don't have any other recoveries on my phone, so I wouldn't know about that last option.
4th June 2014, 12:21 PM   |  #6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,848
 
25,054 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brichardson1991

How odd like I said my apps are all receiving their root permissions...

Are they though? SuperSU grants permissions but if the binary is not present, its irrelevant. Can you actually do root things with the root apps that have the permissions?

Have you tried other binary download?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brichardson1991

What file would we be talking about flashing? The Temp one SuperSU makes to flash when you click install via TWPR?

In SuperSU, do the TWRP flash install of the binary and reboot, then try the "normal" install immediately after

Quote:
Originally Posted by brichardson1991

I don't have any other recoveries on my phone, so I wouldn't know about that last option.

Theres a link in my signature to Philz recovery. In the settings is a root option, so the recovery itself can root without flashing any zips. Maybe try that if downloading an older flashable zip or the above hasnt worked.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2014, 01:06 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Bagshot, Surrey, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 7
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Are they though? SuperSU grants permissions but if the binary is not present, its irrelevant. Can you actually do root things with the root apps that have the permissions?

It does seem that way Titanium has backed up an app just now, adblock has updated and Nova is hiding the time on the first screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Have you tried other binary download?

No, I shall give a older one a try.. Tried 1.97 as well and to no luck.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

In SuperSU, do the TWRP flash install of the binary and reboot, then try the "normal" install immediately after

This failed to do anything just got the install failed again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Theres a link in my signature to Philz recovery. In the settings is a root option, so the recovery itself can root without flashing any zips. Maybe try that if downloading an older flashable zip or the above hasnt worked.

I assume this would override TWRP recovery?
Last edited by brichardson1991; 4th June 2014 at 01:28 PM. Reason: Tried SuperSU 1.97
4th June 2014, 01:09 PM   |  #8  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,848
 
25,054 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brichardson1991


I assume this would override TWRP recovery?

Yes it would. You can always flash back to twrp afterwards
4th June 2014, 01:49 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Flag Bagshot, Surrey, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 7
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Yes it would. You can always flash back to twrp afterwards

Well considering that worked and I now can get into SuperSU I think I will stick with Philz. Even if I paid for the TWRP app
The Following User Says Thank You to brichardson1991 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2014, 01:51 PM   |  #10  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,848
 
25,054 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brichardson1991

Well considering that worked and I now can get into SuperSU I think I will stick with Philz. Even if I paid for the TWRP app

Good news. The latest version of Philz, s it is CWM based - uses the latest Cyanogen sources to build. I update the CM sources everytime I build Philz so hopefully there should be fewer issues when new stuff comes out.

The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes