Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,302 Members 51,334 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Are we supposed to install busybox after rooting?

Tip us?
 
Raistlin1
Old
#1  
Raistlin1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 885
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Are we supposed to install busybox after rooting?

I unlocked and rooted N5 as soon as I got it way back when but I don't recall if I ever installed busybox. I wiped my device to install the 4.4.3 update since one of my files/folders was altered from stickmount. I just installed TWRP and flashed supersu but now I am wondering if I need to install busybox?

I have the pro (paid version) already so not an issue of buying it, running stock rom and kernel for now just custom recovery and root.

Thanks
_______________________
Nexus 5 - 32GB Black - Unlocked & Rooted
TWRP
_______________________
S4 - Black (Wifey's)
Bone Stock
_______________________
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1
_______________________
RIP - OG EVO - Wife killed the power button
Amon_RA 2.3 | MikG 3.11
AnthraX Kernel (sometimes)
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3032
Posts: 9,022
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
You don't need busybox unless some of your apps require it

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
Utacka
Old
(Last edited by Utacka; 5th June 2014 at 03:15 AM.)
#3  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 5379
Posts: 1,899
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Stockholm

 
DONATE TO ME
BusyBox combines tiny versions of many common UNIX utilities into a single small executable. It provides replacements for most of the utilities you usually find in GNU fileutils, shellutils, etc. The utilities in BusyBox generally have fewer options than their full-featured GNU cousins; however, the options that are included provide the expected functionality and behave very much like their GNU counterparts.

If you have a root app that need BusyBox to function then yes you need it. Most root apps I have on my phone have their own counterpart already imbedded in the apps, for example Titanium Backup, which is why it works without BusyBox.

Also most custom roms already have busybox included as standard. BusyBox might be needed on Stock, only if you have a root app that needs it to function.

Btw it wont hurt you to install it if you are unsure if any of your app requires it

Skickat från min Nexus 5 via Tapatalk
 
Raistlin1
Old
#4  
Raistlin1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 885
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thanks all, I wasn't sure but now at least I know.

I know many roms already include it but I am running stock right now.
_______________________
Nexus 5 - 32GB Black - Unlocked & Rooted
TWRP
_______________________
S4 - Black (Wifey's)
Bone Stock
_______________________
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1
_______________________
RIP - OG EVO - Wife killed the power button
Amon_RA 2.3 | MikG 3.11
AnthraX Kernel (sometimes)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes