Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,690 Members 47,073 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

T-Mobile, drops from LTE to 3G when making a call

Tip us?
 
cahiatt
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 94
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta
Default T-Mobile, drops from LTE to 3G when making a call

Just wondering if this happens to anyone else. My N5 was originally on Sprint but just recently switched to TMO. I have noticed that when on the TMO network my phone will drop to 3G whenever I make or receive a call. As soon as the call is over it switches back to LTE.

If I put my Sprint SIM back in and use their network it seems to hold LTE while on the call.

This is not scientific and am basing this observation from the network signal indicator on the top status bar. And as far as I can tell it isn't affecting performance. More of a curiosity at this point.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
 
simms22
Old
#2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 20642
Posts: 24,863
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
this is how its supposed to work. phone calls cant go through the lte signal(in this case, with tmibile) to the phone, so it drops to 3G(H).
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
The Following User Says Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
shotta35
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 454
Posts: 1,569
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC & Germany
LTE in it's current implementation is a DATA ONLY service so when you make voice calls it drops that connection and connects the call. Since 3G is Voice/Data it shows the 3G/H connection available to you at that time. When you hang up it goes back to LTE.

With Sprint it uses CDMA so theres no simultaneous option with that so LTE is kept alive in order to deliver data at the sametime.

All expected behavior as already mentioned
The Following User Says Thank You to shotta35 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cahiatt
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 94
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta
Thanks for the info. Makes perfect sense how that is explained. I am rooted and cleaned out some apps I don't want. I'm particularly careful to not mess things up and noticed the change in behavior on TMO. Wanted to make sure something I hacked for Sprint didn't FUBAR the connection.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
 
Jooosty
Old
#5  
Jooosty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 481
Join Date: Nov 2011
I noticed this too on ATT.

When in calls it drops to H .

Thanks for the explanation

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
HTC ULTIMEIGHT!
 
kendong2
Old
#6  
kendong2's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 1,587
Join Date: Sep 2009
It is called CSFB (circuit switched fallback), which will soon be replaced by VoLTE (Voice over LTE), which will be a plain and simple SIP-controlled VOIP call using LTE as carrier. Not sure if current phones can and/or will be upgraded to be able to do VoLTE, or if todays LTE handsets are stuck falling back forever...
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...