FORUMS

Hands-on With T-Mo LG G4 and Q&A

XDA Senior Member WinDroidGuy posted a hands-on video of the T-Mobile LG G4, and he is now … more

Quick Notes – Notification Panel Reminders

This app by XDA Senior Member yogi.306 is a quick and productive tool that … more

Who Is Your Favorite YouTuber That Covers Mobile?

There are dozens of talented YouTubers who cover mobile, but we want to know which … more

Galaxy S6 Shipping with Different Camera Models

One of the Galaxy S6’s most flaunted features is its spectacular camera, its 16MP … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

T-Mobile, drops from LTE to 3G when making a call

4th March 2014, 11:52 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Just wondering if this happens to anyone else. My N5 was originally on Sprint but just recently switched to TMO. I have noticed that when on the TMO network my phone will drop to 3G whenever I make or receive a call. As soon as the call is over it switches back to LTE.

If I put my Sprint SIM back in and use their network it seems to hold LTE while on the call.

This is not scientific and am basing this observation from the network signal indicator on the top status bar. And as far as I can tell it isn't affecting performance. More of a curiosity at this point.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
 
 
4th March 2014, 11:58 PM |#2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 24,028
 
More
this is how its supposed to work. phone calls cant go through the lte signal(in this case, with tmibile) to the phone, so it drops to 3G(H).
The Following User Says Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2014, 12:37 AM |#3  
Senior Member
NYC & Germany
Thanks Meter: 455
 
More
LTE in it's current implementation is a DATA ONLY service so when you make voice calls it drops that connection and connects the call. Since 3G is Voice/Data it shows the 3G/H connection available to you at that time. When you hang up it goes back to LTE.

With Sprint it uses CDMA so theres no simultaneous option with that so LTE is kept alive in order to deliver data at the sametime.

All expected behavior as already mentioned
The Following User Says Thank You to shotta35 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2014, 01:24 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Thanks for the info. Makes perfect sense how that is explained. I am rooted and cleaned out some apps I don't want. I'm particularly careful to not mess things up and noticed the change in behavior on TMO. Wanted to make sure something I hacked for Sprint didn't FUBAR the connection.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
5th March 2014, 01:40 AM |#5  
Jooosty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
I noticed this too on ATT.

When in calls it drops to H .

Thanks for the explanation

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
5th March 2014, 12:09 PM |#6  
kendong2's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
It is called CSFB (circuit switched fallback), which will soon be replaced by VoLTE (Voice over LTE), which will be a plain and simple SIP-controlled VOIP call using LTE as carrier. Not sure if current phones can and/or will be upgraded to be able to do VoLTE, or if todays LTE handsets are stuck falling back forever...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank