Ultrasecure Blackphone Had Security Vulnerability

What was touted to be an impenetrable monolithic staple in Android security has just had a … more

LG Dumps Glass, Adopts Plastic for All Future Screens

LG has been incorporating plastic OLED displays in some of its latest and upcoming … more

Seene: A New Dimension for Social Media

Seene has been on iOS since October 2013, and it has now made its to the Google Play Store. Seene is … more

Runtastic Material Design Overhaul

With each passing day, an increasing number of apps are getting on board with Google’s new visual … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

T-Mobile, drops from LTE to 3G when making a call

OP cahiatt

5th March 2014, 12:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 17
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Just wondering if this happens to anyone else. My N5 was originally on Sprint but just recently switched to TMO. I have noticed that when on the TMO network my phone will drop to 3G whenever I make or receive a call. As soon as the call is over it switches back to LTE.

If I put my Sprint SIM back in and use their network it seems to hold LTE while on the call.

This is not scientific and am basing this observation from the network signal indicator on the top status bar. And as far as I can tell it isn't affecting performance. More of a curiosity at this point.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
5th March 2014, 12:58 AM   |  #2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,167
 
27,961 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
this is how its supposed to work. phone calls cant go through the lte signal(in this case, with tmibile) to the phone, so it drops to 3G(H).
The Following User Says Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2014, 01:37 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
NYC & Germany
Thanks Meter: 455
 
1,570 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
LTE in it's current implementation is a DATA ONLY service so when you make voice calls it drops that connection and connects the call. Since 3G is Voice/Data it shows the 3G/H connection available to you at that time. When you hang up it goes back to LTE.

With Sprint it uses CDMA so theres no simultaneous option with that so LTE is kept alive in order to deliver data at the sametime.

All expected behavior as already mentioned
The Following User Says Thank You to shotta35 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2014, 02:24 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 17
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Thanks for the info. Makes perfect sense how that is explained. I am rooted and cleaned out some apps I don't want. I'm particularly careful to not mess things up and noticed the change in behavior on TMO. Wanted to make sure something I hacked for Sprint didn't FUBAR the connection.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
5th March 2014, 02:40 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I noticed this too on ATT.

When in calls it drops to H .

Thanks for the explanation

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
5th March 2014, 01:09 PM   |  #6  
kendong2's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 58
 
1,591 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
It is called CSFB (circuit switched fallback), which will soon be replaced by VoLTE (Voice over LTE), which will be a plain and simple SIP-controlled VOIP call using LTE as carrier. Not sure if current phones can and/or will be upgraded to be able to do VoLTE, or if todays LTE handsets are stuck falling back forever...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes