TWRP 2.8.3.0 Available for Supported Devices

The TeamWin Recovery Project (or TWRP, for short) has quickly become one of the most popular … more

Easily Generate and Export Material Design Palletes

For many people, it can be pretty difficult to create a palette of complementary colors. … more

Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

T Mobile N5 used on Sprint network?

OP iammrhappy123

29th April 2014, 11:48 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Going to buy my friends T Mobile N5 and would like to use it on Sprint network.

Ive researched this a little and I have seen people run into trouble, saying that Sprint wont activated it because it wasn't purchased from google or sprint.

All Nexus's from North America are the same from what I understand and should be able to be used on any carrier.

Anyone have any suggestions on whether this can be done?


Thanks
29th April 2014, 02:01 PM   |  #2  
CRIME INC.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag HENDERSONVILLE
Thanks Meter: 1,956
 
3,226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Yes, all you need is a Sprint sim card

sent from my HAMMERHEAD
29th April 2014, 04:04 PM   |  #3  
jt3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 170
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
More accurately, if your current LTE phone has a nano SIM, then you can simply pop it out, put it in your friend's Nexus 5 and it should work. The problem comes if you need a new SIM, or if your current SIM doesn't have LTE service assigned to it. In either of those cases, you'll need to contact Sprint either for a new SIM, or to activate LTE service. At that time, they may fight you, stating that the phone isn't supported. However, if you don't back down, ask for a supervisor, or try another store, eventually you will get a reasonable person.

Worst case, call the customer service line, and say that you got a Nexus 5 from Google, and need them to send you a new SIM card. They don't have to know you didn't actually buy it from Google. Again, it may take talking to a supervisor or even multiple calls, but eventually, you'll succeed.
29th April 2014, 04:07 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,088
 
2,879 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iammrhappy123

Going to buy my friends T Mobile N5 and would like to use it on Sprint network.

Ive researched this a little and I have seen people run into trouble, saying that Sprint wont activated it because it wasn't purchased from google or sprint.

All Nexus's from North America are the same from what I understand and should be able to be used on any carrier.

Anyone have any suggestions on whether this can be done?


Thanks

1) the NA nexus 5 cannot be used on any carrier. it cannot be used on verizon. the other 3 major carriers are fine (tmobile, sprint, and att)

2) sprint has to add the IMEI to their databases to allow the CDMA portion to connect to their network. This is how the auth the phone to make phone calls, etc. They have added the IMEI from google play devices, and obviously the ones they sell. They do not have a list of the IMEIs tmobile sells.
29th April 2014, 04:25 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 203
 
794 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jt3

More accurately, if your current LTE phone has a nano SIM, then you can simply pop it out, put it in your friend's Nexus 5 and it should work.

The Nexus 5 needs a Micro SIM. If you use a nano SIM, you will need an adapter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepius

2) sprint has to add the IMEI to their databases to allow the CDMA portion to connect to their network. This is how the auth the phone to make phone calls, etc. They have added the IMEI from google play devices, and obviously the ones they sell. They do not have a list of the IMEIs tmobile sells.

That was the case till recently. Last week, I saw a Sprint store employee call customer care for a potential customer and supposedly get the IMEI added into the Sprint database for a N5 bought from T-mo. The customer had to provide invoice etc to show that he owned the device, but I think they were able to get it sorted out.
YMMV of course.
29th April 2014, 04:43 PM   |  #6  
jt3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 170
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj14

The Nexus 5 needs a Micro SIM. If you use a nano SIM, you will need an adapter

Duh. I knew that. I don't know why I said Nano. I came from a Galaxy S4 Active, and remember being happy that it still had a Micro SIM, the same as the N5. Thanks for the correction.

As for the IMEI issue, I guess when the OP said T-Mo Nexus 5, I thought Play Store N5 used on T-Mo. I didn't realize T-Mo was selling them directly, and thought only Sprint was doing that. (Play Store IMEIs are in Sprint's system.) My mistake. Still, I know that they can add IMEIs to their network, but it usually requires quite a battle. This is one of the key reasons I'm not on Sprint.
29th April 2014, 05:56 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 203
 
794 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jt3

Duh. I knew that. I don't know why I said Nano. I came from a Galaxy S4 Active, and remember being happy that it still had a Micro SIM, the same as the N5. Thanks for the correction.

As for the IMEI issue, I guess when the OP said T-Mo Nexus 5, I thought Play Store N5 used on T-Mo. I didn't realize T-Mo was selling them directly, and thought only Sprint was doing that. (Play Store IMEIs are in Sprint's system.) My mistake. Still, I know that they can add IMEIs to their network, but it usually requires quite a battle. This is one of the key reasons I'm not on Sprint.

I hear ya, and totally agree - it is a pain to get them to do something that is not their normal process! I'm still with them, just because they have better coverage outside of cities than T-Mo. But I'm getting tired of their terrible data speeds, and eCFSB issues - ugh
29th April 2014, 07:36 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hey All!

Thanks for the replies! You all are very helpful. I wasn't expecting any replies haha.

I'm currently on Sprint iPhone 5 which uses a Micro Sim.

First time ever going to android, so I"m excited.

I just hope that when I call Sprint to activate the N5, they wont give me crap. And hopefully they add my IMEI to their network.

Or hopefully, when I just switch the SIM, it'll work off the bat lol.

Ill just keep being persistent at getting them to activate it if not.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes