Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,606 Members 48,605 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Tamper Reset- Cracked No Touch Screen

Tip us?
 
MAXGEN
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 54
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default [Q] Tamper Reset- Cracked No Touch Screen

I'm trying to reset the tamper flag but I can't select install and package in TWRP. This is what I'm trying to install, Nexus BootUnlocker script, its for tamper reset package. I been able to install factory ROM through adb and clear all my data. I just don't know how to install a package in TWRP through command line if possible? Is there another way? I can't touch and select anything, its not happening. I sort of see whats on the screen.
 
vin4yak
Old
#2  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,148
Posts: 3,647
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
I don't know about TWRP but if you use Philz/CWM... You can navigate to the flashable zip via volume/power keys and flash it!
 
MAXGEN
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 54
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak View Post
I don't know about TWRP but if you use Philz/CWM... You can navigate to the flashable zip via volume/power keys and flash it!
CWM non touch version worked. Used the buttons b/c I just see enough to make out the options on screen. That worked for me. Thanks.
 
marleyfan61
Old
#4  
marleyfan61's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 746
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Surrey
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXGEN View Post
I'm trying to reset the tamper flag but I can't select install and package in TWRP. This is what I'm trying to install, Nexus BootUnlocker script, its for tamper reset package. I been able to install factory ROM through adb and clear all my data. I just don't know how to install a package in TWRP through command line if possible? Is there another way? I can't touch and select anything, its not happening. I sort of see whats on the screen.

I assume you're planning on RMA'ing the phone and that's why you want to reset the tamper flag. If the issue has nothing to do with rooting of the phone ie a hardware issue, then Google won't refuse a warranty repair because of the tamper flag. I've yet to hear of anyone being refused service due to rooting. I think Google pretty much expects these phones to be rooted.

I had no problems with RMA (loose charge port). I unrooted and factory reset mine but did not reset the tamper flag.
Phone: Nexus 5
ROM: Paranoid Android 4.5 BETA-2
Recovery: TWRP
Kernel: Stock
Headpones: Beyerdynamic Tesla DT-1350, Sennheiser CX 880i
 
bblzd
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 285
Posts: 1,269
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by marleyfan61 View Post
I assume you're planning on RMA'ing the phone and that's why you want to reset the tamper flag. If the issue has nothing to do with rooting of the phone ie a hardware issue, then Google won't refuse a warranty repair because of the tamper flag. I've yet to hear of anyone being refused service due to rooting. I think Google pretty much expects these phones to be rooted.

I had no problems with RMA (loose charge port). I unrooted and factory reset mine but did not reset the tamper flag.
Since he has a cracked screen we can assume he's sending it to LG for a screen replacement and not to Google RMA.
W32
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes