FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

[Q] tasker location not updating

213 posts
Thanks Meter: 27
 
By orb360, Senior Member on 7th January 2014, 12:41 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So tasker isn't updating location properly.

I have it using "net" for location and location mode is set to "battery saving"

Upon phone restart this works...

Until I change mode to "high power" for navigation, etc...

After toggling location mode tasker will cease updating location until I reboot the phone.

Even after going back to battery saver... google maps location works... but tasker refuses to change.

Anyone else having issues like this? what gives?
 
 
7th January 2014, 03:43 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
I have used location triggers from Tasker but never the "location" in Tasker.

If you want a low battery location trigger, use the State->Cell Near instead.

If you are ok with slightly higher battery usage with higher accuracy and got USD1 to spare, try the AutoLocation plugin that uses GeoFences.
7th January 2014, 05:49 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
It works great for weeks at a time... until I change my location mode from "battery saving" to "high power" (and later back to "battery saving")

Only after I change location modes does it stop working until a reboot (even force close and restart won't fix the issue)

Anyway, I'd rather not install AutoLocation... it seems like it does the same thing the location profile does in tasker...
7th January 2014, 06:50 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orb360

Anyway, I'd rather not install AutoLocation... it seems like it does the same thing the location profile does in tasker...

It definitely doesn't, if you are up for it, you can read up about Android Geofences, it is a new thing by Google and supposedly save more battery compared to previous methods of location detection.

Its sad that Tasker doesn't include this by default internally though.
27th January 2014, 06:46 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 252
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orb360

So tasker isn't updating location properly.

I have it using "net" for location and location mode is set to "battery saving"

Upon phone restart this works...

Until I change mode to "high power" for navigation, etc...

After toggling location mode tasker will cease updating location until I reboot the phone.

Even after going back to battery saver... google maps location works... but tasker refuses to change.

Anyone else having issues like this? what gives?

I am also trying to do the same profile but I am using disconnect from work wifi as the trigger. Can you please share how did you create the action to change the location mode because I can't seem to find it in tasker.
27th January 2014, 06:58 PM |#6  
kgeissler's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rowlett, TX
Thanks Meter: 80
 
More
I think it has to do with LTE. I wound up using cell tower location within Tasker instead and that works fine.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes