Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,848 Members 37,580 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Do you have to install a ROM to get xposed?

Tip us?

Hemotherapy
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Default [Q] Do you have to install a ROM to get xposed?

Do I need to get a ROM with xposed on it or can I install it myself without one? This is my first nexus device so I'm new to this territory! Sorry for the newbie question

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

rootSU
Old
Thanks Meter 10677
Xposed isn't nexus specific so the same rules apply to any Android device.

The point of Xposed is to be able to apply custom features without having to change rom or edit your existing rom, so nope - you can use whatever rom is there now

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]

jt3
Old
Thanks Meter 61
Your device does, however, have to be rooted.
The Following User Says Thank You to jt3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]

Hemotherapy
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Xposed isn't nexus specific so the same rules apply to any Android device.

The point of Xposed is to be able to apply custom features without having to change rom or edit your existing rom, so nope - you can use whatever rom is there now

Okay thank you - so don't HAVE to have a ROM right? I am on Vomers stock ATM so in theory I can just flash xposed on and done?

Just confusing because all the other phones I've had its just always been a part of the Roms I've used and I don't see one in the nexus specific Roms!

rootSU
Old
Thanks Meter 10677
Quote: