Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,492 Members 39,455 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is there a way to pre-enable ADB in a ROM zip prior to flashing?

Tip us?
 
TekGadgt
Old
#1  
TekGadgt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 166
Join Date: Aug 2012
Question [Q] Is there a way to pre-enable ADB in a ROM zip prior to flashing?

I am working on a CM11S port and need to be able to pull a logcat since it loads the boot animation but won't load any further as of now. Any advice would be great.

Look at the world around you. With the slightest push - in just the right place - it can be tipped.
- Malcolm Gladwell

 

 
Primokorn
Old
#2  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1863
Posts: 3,619
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Annecy

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekGadgt View Post
I am working on a CM11S port and need to be able to pull a logcat since it loads the boot animation but won't load any further as of now. Any advice would be great.
You can launch your adb logcat from the (custom) recovery then reboot normally.
Nexus 5 | Ask any questionTWRP themes 720p & 1080pDark XDA

LGE Nexus 5 | TWRP Recovery | Mahdi | Uber fan of Uber kernel

 
TekGadgt
Old
#3  
TekGadgt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 166
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn View Post
You can launch your adb logcat from the (custom) recovery then reboot normally.
I am having issues with adb over recovery, my device in device manager appears as 'AOSP on Hammerhead' and does not recognize adb interface. I have tried CWM, TWRP, and Philz.

Look at the world around you. With the slightest push - in just the right place - it can be tipped.
- Malcolm Gladwell

 

 
Primokorn
Old
#4  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1863
Posts: 3,619
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Annecy

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekGadgt View Post
I am having issues with adb over recovery, my device in device manager appears as 'AOSP on Hammerhead' and does not recognize adb interface. I have tried CWM, TWRP, and Philz.
'adb devices' command doesn't recognize your phone? Are you sure that your ADB setup is correct?
BTW we need a custom recovery to use adb commands.
Nexus 5 | Ask any questionTWRP themes 720p & 1080pDark XDA

LGE Nexus 5 | TWRP Recovery | Mahdi | Uber fan of Uber kernel

 
TekGadgt
Old
#5  
TekGadgt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 166
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn View Post
'adb devices' command doesn't recognize your phone? Are you sure that your ADB setup is correct?
BTW we need a custom recovery to use adb commands.
No it doesn't. I have read about the issue but haven't found a real fix. And I know I need a custom recovery, I mentioned that I had tried CWM, TWRP, and Philz Touch.

Look at the world around you. With the slightest push - in just the right place - it can be tipped.
- Malcolm Gladwell

 

 
Primokorn
Old
#6  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1863
Posts: 3,619
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Annecy

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekGadgt View Post
No it doesn't. I have read about the issue but haven't found a real fix. And I know I need a custom recovery, I mentioned that I had tried CWM, TWRP, and Philz Touch.
So fix your adb setup. The only tool that allows a logcat from boot is adb AFAIK so there's no other choice.
Nexus 5 | Ask any questionTWRP themes 720p & 1080pDark XDA

LGE Nexus 5 | TWRP Recovery | Mahdi | Uber fan of Uber kernel

 
TekGadgt
Old
#7  
TekGadgt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 166
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn View Post
So fix your adb setup. The only tool that allows a logcat from boot is adb AFAIK so there's no other choice.
I fixed my adb setup but still can't seem to get a logcat starting in recovery

Look at the world around you. With the slightest push - in just the right place - it can be tipped.
- Malcolm Gladwell

 

 
Primokorn
Old
#8  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1863
Posts: 3,619
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Annecy

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekGadgt View Post
I fixed my adb setup but still can't seem to get a logcat starting in recovery
adb devices is working?

You can also use DDMS: http://developer.android.com/tools/d...ms.html#logcat
Nexus 5 | Ask any questionTWRP themes 720p & 1080pDark XDA

LGE Nexus 5 | TWRP Recovery | Mahdi | Uber fan of Uber kernel

 
TekGadgt
Old
#9  
TekGadgt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 166
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn View Post
adb devices is working?

You can also use DDMS: http://developer.android.com/tools/d...ms.html#logcat
Yes adb devices is working. And I might look more into DDMS.

Look at the world around you. With the slightest push - in just the right place - it can be tipped.
- Malcolm Gladwell

 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...