MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Is there a way to pre-enable ADB in a ROM zip prior to flashing?

OP TekGadgt

18th June 2014, 02:52 AM   |  #1  
TekGadgt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 145
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
I am working on a CM11S port and need to be able to pull a logcat since it loads the boot animation but won't load any further as of now. Any advice would be great.
18th June 2014, 09:56 AM   |  #2  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,674
 
4,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekGadgt

I am working on a CM11S port and need to be able to pull a logcat since it loads the boot animation but won't load any further as of now. Any advice would be great.

You can launch your adb logcat from the (custom) recovery then reboot normally.
18th June 2014, 09:44 PM   |  #3  
TekGadgt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 145
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn

You can launch your adb logcat from the (custom) recovery then reboot normally.

I am having issues with adb over recovery, my device in device manager appears as 'AOSP on Hammerhead' and does not recognize adb interface. I have tried CWM, TWRP, and Philz.
18th June 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #4  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,674
 
4,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekGadgt

I am having issues with adb over recovery, my device in device manager appears as 'AOSP on Hammerhead' and does not recognize adb interface. I have tried CWM, TWRP, and Philz.

'adb devices' command doesn't recognize your phone? Are you sure that your ADB setup is correct?
BTW we need a custom recovery to use adb commands.
18th June 2014, 10:42 PM   |  #5  
TekGadgt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 145
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn

'adb devices' command doesn't recognize your phone? Are you sure that your ADB setup is correct?
BTW we need a custom recovery to use adb commands.

No it doesn't. I have read about the issue but haven't found a real fix. And I know I need a custom recovery, I mentioned that I had tried CWM, TWRP, and Philz Touch.
19th June 2014, 08:35 AM   |  #6  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,674
 
4,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekGadgt

No it doesn't. I have read about the issue but haven't found a real fix. And I know I need a custom recovery, I mentioned that I had tried CWM, TWRP, and Philz Touch.

So fix your adb setup. The only tool that allows a logcat from boot is adb AFAIK so there's no other choice.
20th June 2014, 12:47 AM   |  #7  
TekGadgt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 145
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn

So fix your adb setup. The only tool that allows a logcat from boot is adb AFAIK so there's no other choice.

I fixed my adb setup but still can't seem to get a logcat starting in recovery
20th June 2014, 08:38 AM   |  #8  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,674
 
4,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekGadgt

I fixed my adb setup but still can't seem to get a logcat starting in recovery

adb devices is working?

You can also use DDMS: http://developer.android.com/tools/d...ms.html#logcat
25th June 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #9  
TekGadgt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 145
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn

adb devices is working?

You can also use DDMS: http://developer.android.com/tools/d...ms.html#logcat

Yes adb devices is working. And I might look more into DDMS.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes