Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Back to stock from custom kernel?

OP micens

14th January 2014, 01:05 AM   |  #11  
micens's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Novi Sad
Thanks Meter: 12
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:

if you erase your kernel, you will have a non functional electronic device. you will either have to flash a different kernel, or reflash your rom.

Yes I know this... When erase kernel with "fastboot erase boot" and then flash another kernel that`s it? No data from other kernel like changed ramdisk leave somewhere? That part of this I do not understand about changed ramdisk and other binaries from some kind of custom kernel.
14th January 2014, 02:36 AM   |  #12  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Louis
Thanks Meter: 199
 
814 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by micens

Yes I know this... When erase kernel with "fastboot erase boot" and then flash another kernel that`s it? No data from other kernel like changed ramdisk leave somewhere? That part of this I do not understand about changed ramdisk and other binaries from some kind of custom kernel.

Just flash another kernel. You can flash kernels over each other with no problem.

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to mistahseller For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2014, 03:41 AM   |  #13  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,827
 
27,424 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by micens

Yes I know this... When erase kernel with "fastboot erase boot" and then flash another kernel that`s it? No data from other kernel like changed ramdisk leave somewhere? That part of this I do not understand about changed ramdisk and other binaries from some kind of custom kernel.

you can do that if you like.
anyways, if a kernel has its own ramdisk, and not an anykernel, then the ramdisk will get replaced every time you flash a kernel. if you are flashing an anykernel, then its best to either reflash your rom first or the roms kernel(stock kernel if stock rom). you can do it your way too, erase than flash
The Following User Says Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2014, 09:11 AM   |  #14  
micens's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Novi Sad
Thanks Meter: 12
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
That` s what interested me

Thank you very much
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes