FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Touch screen stops responding must reboot to fix

15th March 2014, 03:45 PM |#1  
lifeisfun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Recently two n5 we have in the family started doing the same thing,
touch screen is not responsive (buttons do work) and the device must be
rebooted holding the power button to get it working again.
Quite annoying since it happens couple times every day.
Searched around but didn't find any reports.
Both phones stock, rooted, gravity box and touch control installed.

Any ideas?
Thanks
 
 
15th March 2014, 04:21 PM |#2  
zubsz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, UK
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
I'm going to take a wild guess here, But try uninstalling touch control and see if the problem occurs again. touch control has no issues on my phone btw.
The Following User Says Thank You to zubsz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2014, 04:28 PM |#3  
lifeisfun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zubsz

I'm going to take a wild guess here, But try uninstalling touch control and see if the problem occurs again. touch control has no issues on my phone btw.

Thanks for reply!
What kernel are you using with touch control (Franco 33)?
It was working perfect for us with Franco till about rev 29, after that we got problems with graphic errors on the display once in the while, relished stock offered from touch control installation, and now this problem for change.
Last edited by lifeisfun; 15th March 2014 at 04:31 PM.
15th March 2014, 04:36 PM |#4  
zubsz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, UK
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeisfun

Thanks for reply!
What kernel are you using with touch control (Franco 33)?
It was working perfect for us with Franco till about rev 29, after that we got problems with graphic errors on the display once in the while, relished stock offered from touch control installation, and now this problem for change.

Yes i'm using franco r33, I reverted to from r34 due to otg issues that I need to get around to sorting out. Hope things go well for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to zubsz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2014, 04:59 PM |#5  
lifeisfun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zubsz

Yes i'm using franco r33, I reverted to from r34 due to otg issues that I need to get around to sorting out. Hope things go well for you.

Thanks, will try 33 as well on one of them 😉
The Following User Says Thank You to lifeisfun For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2014, 05:48 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Just had to be send mine back for same problem, only turning it off didn't fix my problem. Not rooted
16th March 2014, 05:46 AM |#7  
AdamUpNorth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
Hmm...this just started happening to be as week this week. Happened twice today. I'm running the stock ROM & kernel.

I wonder if an update to some app is causing this.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
17th March 2014, 10:46 AM |#8  
lifeisfun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Installed FC 33, the touch screen problem is not there anymore but the graphic distortion is back.
It happens once in the while and looks like poor TV signal for second or two.
17th March 2014, 10:47 AM |#9  
lifeisfun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisnewton

Just had to be send mine back for same problem, only turning it off didn't fix my problem. Not rooted

Meaning when you rebooted it did not fix it?
17th March 2014, 10:52 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeisfun

Meaning when you rebooted it did not fix it?

Correct mate
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes