FORUMS

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

Tried to mount R/W at boot; won't boot

24 posts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
By bretcb, Junior Member on 7th June 2014, 06:20 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
7th June 2014, 04:40 PM |#11  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,823
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bretcb

I do appreciate your insight, even if it is a little condescending.

I changed the permissions on build.prop because choosing the "Root Explorer" option on ES File Explorer did not alone allow me to edit build.prop, and I downloaded the other app, because I haven't been able to find the "Mount as r/w" option in the latest version of ES File Explorer - it likely still exists, but, I admit, I can't find it. I've checked again this morning, and still can't find it. Nonetheless, I remounted the /system as r/w using the term, verified that it had indeed happened, and I still could not save the build.prop (which, incidentally, is back to its default 0644 (rw_r__r__) since I flashed the phone last night). Just for completeness, I also changed build.prop to 666 (rw_rw_rw_) again just now, and still could not save build.prop.

I will keep working on it, and if you, or anyone else, has any further suggestions, they are more than welcome.

I don't know why I'm being condescending.

ES seems to have changed and removed the setting for mount r/w. It doesn't even prompt for root access so this probably isn't the tool for you.

Anyway, do NOT change permissions of files. Use a root explorer that works. i recommend "root explorer".

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 04:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:39 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bretcb

That is it exactly. I'm glad to know, though, that I shouldn't choose such a low density on my spiffy new higher resolution device.

Because it is too small. You won't be able to see anything or touch anything.

dpi explanation

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51520848


Here is what 160 looks like on a screen with our resolution







Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Last edited by danarama; 7th June 2014 at 04:59 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to danarama For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
7th June 2014, 08:26 PM |#12  
Elluel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag えうれる
Thanks Meter: 3,208
 
More
So many Xposed modules.. I only have two.
7th June 2014, 08:27 PM |#13  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,823
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Letharqy

So many Xposed modules.. I only have two.

Haha. They're just the ones with a user interface

18 in total...

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
7th June 2014, 08:29 PM |#14  
Elluel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag えうれる
Thanks Meter: 3,208
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Haha. They're just the ones with a user interface

18 in total...

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

A bit excessive, don't you think? On a custom ROM too.
7th June 2014, 08:31 PM |#15  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,823
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Letharqy

A bit excessive, don't you think? On a custom ROM too.

No. I need them to give me the functions I need. It's no more excessive than having installed 18 apps to do what the OS doesn't

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
7th June 2014, 08:32 PM |#16  
Elluel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag えうれる
Thanks Meter: 3,208
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

No. I need them to give me the functions I need. It's no more excessive than having installed 18 apps to do what the OS doesn't

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

True, I guess it's Android anyways and it won't impact it too much unless you mess something up significantly.
7th June 2014, 08:33 PM |#17  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,823
 
More
There's no resource overhead

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to danarama For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 06:20 AM |#18  
OP Junior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Thumbs up
FYI, I installed ROM Toolbox Lite, which includes, among other things, a build.prop editor. That build.prop editor was able to successfully edit the LCD density. I tried 360 to start with, and it seems decent so far. I really appreciate being warned away from trying 160 right off the bat.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bretcb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 10:05 PM |#19  
Elluel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag えうれる
Thanks Meter: 3,208
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bretcb

FYI, I installed ROM Toolbox Lite, which includes, among other things, a build.prop editor. That build.prop editor was able to successfully edit the LCD density. I tried 360 to start with, and it seems decent so far. I really appreciate being warned away from trying 160 right off the bat.

Lowest you can really use is 281, as 280 and under goes to tablet UI, and it scales everything down way more. I use a density of 300 with a larger dpi nav bar so it doesn't look small.
The Following User Says Thank You to Elluel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes