Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,588 Members 45,425 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] True Full screen? (fake hardware buttons)

Tip us?
 
Deathracelord
Old
(Last edited by Deathracelord; 24th July 2014 at 12:37 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] True Full screen? (fake hardware buttons)

Hi, I haven't been able to find much information about it so... I am trying to run a game - FF IV - in full screen on my Nexus 5. Usually it runs with the soft keys on the edge, but I can get rid of them by forcing immersive mode, however the game remains the same width but is pillarboxed. I have seen videos and images of this game running on other android devices and can confirm it can run in true 16:9 so I am trying to work out a way to do that.

Is there some way to trick the app into thinking the phone has hardware keys? Or to change the default resolution of the app?

Any help would be appreciated if you know anything about thus, or even something similar to this.

Thanks!
DRL
Edit: I am using the Xposed module app settings to force immersive mode for this app(I have also tried universal immersive mode) and have experimented with the DPI settings as well, but with no success. Will keep thread updated as I try new things.
Edit 2: Well, just checked out build.prop, nothing that seemed promising other than the DPI is 480... will keep searching.
 
StupidIdea
Old
#2  
StupidIdea's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1,304
Posts: 1,218
Join Date: Jun 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
My app GMD AHSK (root) will turn on hardware buttons setting. Other than some advanced setting it is free to use:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...d.hidesoftkeys

I don't know if it will help with FF form factor.
Developer of: GMD Full Screen Immersive Mode (no root)
Developer of: GMD GestureControl - multitouch iPad like gestures for Android (XDA thread)
Developer of: GMD SPen Control - create custom S Pen gestures for your Note. Supports all custom ROM's.
Developer of: S Pen Toolbox - Screen Off on S Pen attach and more.
Developer of: GMD Auto Hide Soft Keys - no system modifications, no reboot. Keeps notification bar.
Follow me on Google+
JOIN GMD apps beta testing community on G+
 
Deathracelord
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
Thanks for the reply! The app is able to hide the soft keys but the game still refuses to remove the black bars... I am wondering if it is some profile based on phone model? Well at least we know it's not a hard key issue.
 
Lethargy
Old
#4  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,630
Posts: 2,925
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
qemu.hw.mainkeys in build.prop determines whether the device has hardware keys or not, 0 means it doesn't and 1 means it does.

You can add qemu.hw.mainkeys=1 to the end of build.prop to disable soft keys however you'll have to reboot and its not practical to do just for one app lol.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyphur
You ask us to understand your position. Well if you want to benefit from our experience and time then I think it is only fair that you understand our position.
I actively add ignorant people to my ignore list.
 
Deathracelord
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
Thought I'd test it anyway to see if it worked... 3 reboots later and I'm still getting the black bars! I'm starting to suspect the images may have been stretched slightly... I might test on bluestacks or AVD tomorrow. *sigh* This is bugging me more then it should
 
Deathracelord
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2014
Changed pmy DPI to 160 as per this post: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6&postcount=84
However, while everything on my phone is now tiny FF IV still has black bars.
On a hunch I disabled immersive mode on the game, as in tablet mode the soft keys are down the bottom of the screen in landscape mode.
What happened was that the game resized to have larger black bars(maintaining its original form factor) due to the loss of vertical resolution due to the soft keys.
So it appears the game's resolution is set, perhaps it's only the iPhone 5 version that's 16:9? I'm going to switch back the DPI now, before the tiny text destroys my eyes. If anyone else has any ideas, let me know.
 
rootSU
Old
#7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,413
Posts: 22,448
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
I just stop using navbar and use Pie instead
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more

Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more

ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more