5,598,086 Members 42,751 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Trying to figure out poor signal strength issue

Tip us?
 
yzT
Old
#1  
yzT's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Trying to figure out poor signal strength issue

Hey guys!

Since I got my Nexus 5 a week ago, I'm experiencing a very poor performance of the signal reception at my office. At the same spot, Nexus' signal is around -103 dBm whereas a Neo or Arc S is around -93 dBm. Translated to bars, Nexus has 2 bars using EDGE and the others have 3-4 using HSPA.

I've tried to disable 4G, even for testing purposes I disabled 3G, but the signal strength is the same. I have read that many people have issues with the signal, either this same issue or other, and I got two Nexus with the same behavior, so I don't think it's due to defective devices.

I have noticed that the wifi drops some times and that the Nexus makes more noise on the speakers of my computer. Hence, I think it's a problem of some sort of interference produced by the Nexus.

Checking the testing menu (*#*#4636#*#*), on "Select radio band" at the "Phone information" field I only see "USA Band". I live in Spain, do you think this may be the source of the problem? If it is, how can I fix it?

The version 4.4.2 neither improve nor worsen the signal strength.
 
dicecuber
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 521
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Vancouver
It's the radio

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
yzT
Old
#3  
yzT's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2013
Hardware or software issue?

Sent using Tapatalk@Nexus 5
 
dicecuber
Old
#4  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 521
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Vancouver
Software, a lot of people reverted back to the 4.4 radio

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
yzT
Old
(Last edited by yzT; 12th December 2013 at 05:20 PM.)
#5  
yzT's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicecuber View Post
Software, a lot of people reverted back to the 4.4 radio

Sent from my Nexus 5
The people who reverted back were those that weren't able to connect using LTE in the new radio but they could on 4.4. However, that's not my problem.
 
shotta35
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 449
Posts: 1,567
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC & Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by yzT View Post
The people who reverted back were those that weren't able to connect using LTE in the new radio but they could on 4.4. However, that's not my problem.
You have a problem with low signal strength. The .23 radio seems worse in that regard so get the .15 or .17 radio and test to see if it's better.
 
yzT
Old
#7  
yzT's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by shotta35 View Post
You have a problem with low signal strength. The .23 radio seems worse in that regard so get the .15 or .17 radio and test to see if it's better.
As I said, regardless of the version I'm using, the signal is the same. It doesn't change its strength, neither for good nor for bad.
 
Raistlin1
Old
#8  
Raistlin1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 858
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by shotta35 View Post
You have a problem with low signal strength. The .23 radio seems worse in that regard so get the .15 or .17 radio and test to see if it's better.
Where are the radio's posted that I can load via adb? Also, what is the file name for the radio that was on 4.4 after the day one update but before 4.4.1?

Thanks
_______________________
Nexus 5 - 32GB Black - Unlocked & Rooted
TWRP
_______________________
S4 - White (Wifey's)
Philz | MK2 ROM | MF9 Bootloader
_______________________
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1
4.4 Omni Rom by kasper_h
_______________________
RIP - OG EVO - Wife killed the power button
Amon_RA 2.3 | MikG 3.11
AnthraX Kernel (sometimes)
 
dicecuber
Old
#9  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 521
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Vancouver
Quote:
Originally Posted by yzT View Post
As I said, regardless of the version I'm using, the signal is the same. It doesn't change its strength, neither for good nor for bad.
Change the antenna to a stronger one manually

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
yzT
Old
#10  
yzT's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2013
beside the radio provided within the 4.4 and 4.4.2 versions, is there any other radio which I can try out to see whether things go better?

If so, what are the steps to change it? Stock with CF (root+unlocked).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes