XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Trying to update to 4.4.2 via TWRP Flash getting error

Tip us?

matthewordie
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Question Trying to update to 4.4.2 via TWRP Flash getting error

I'm new to rooting and android in general. I'm currently running 4.4 rooted with stock I believe. Says ponury kernal in my settings.

I'm trying to flash the update for 4.4.2 via the TWRP install. I get a failed error: error executing updater binary in zip.

I've made sure my zip is the 4.4 to 4.4.2 but still no luck. Any ideas what I can do? Do I need to wipe something before I can put it on there?

tom1807
Old
Thanks Meter 17
On a first thought, you need to get back to the original kernel.
Update from 4.4.1 to .4.4.2. has no problems with different kernels installed, however this won't work from 4.4. to 4.4.2.
The exact error message would be also helpful

matthewordie
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom1807 View Post
On a first thought, you need to get back to the original kernel.
Update from 4.4.1 to .4.4.2. has no problems with different kernels installed, however this won't work from 4.4. to 4.4.2.
The exact error message would be also helpful
The error was : error executing updater binary in zip. I will look into getting back to stock.

jd1639
Old
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2278
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewordie View Post
The error was : error executing updater binary in zip. I will look into getting back to stock.
You need to fastboot flash the system and boot image from 4.4 if you have a custom kernel. Then flash the update

matthewordie
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
You need to fastboot flash the system and boot image from 4.4 if you have a custom kernel. Then flash the update