Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

TWRP Backup - cache, recovery

OP rwed

8th March 2014, 02:46 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hi all.

I've been doing backups of my Nexus 5 with TRWP. I chose all options, that is I added 'cache' and 'recovery'.

Question: Is that bad? Should I not backup those?

Thanks.
8th March 2014, 02:50 PM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,996
 
11,394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Just use the ones it defaults to, system, data, boot. You don't need to backup the others. same with wipe, just use the slider thing. Messing with the others can get you on trouble
One other thing, make one backup of the efs only and store that in a safe place off your phone
Last edited by jd1639; 8th March 2014 at 02:52 PM.
8th March 2014, 03:13 PM   |  #3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,944
 
25,164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Just use the ones it defaults to, system, data, boot. You don't need to backup the others. same with wipe, just use the slider thing. Messing with the others can get you on trouble
One other thing, make one backup of the efs only and store that in a safe place off your phone

Can I recommend having 2 different efs backups on the phone and a copy of each off the phone?

That way you're mitigating the risk of one backup being incomplete and the risk of corruption through transferring the files "offsite"

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th March 2014, 03:23 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Wow. So it is indeed bad. Why?

What i did:
Backup01: Restore phone to defaults, root, backup of all (including cache and recovery).
Backup02: Configure my phone, backup of all (including cache and recovery).
Backup03: Install apps, backup of all (including cache and recovery).

Should I restore to each of them and make a new backup without cache and recovery?

Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Just use the ones it defaults to, system, data, boot. You don't need to backup the others. same with wipe, just use the slider thing. Messing with the others can get you on trouble
One other thing, make one backup of the efs only and store that in a safe place off your phone

Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Can I recommend having 2 different efs backups on the phone and a copy of each off the phone?

That way you're mitigating the risk of one backup being incomplete and the risk of corruption through transferring the files "offsite"

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

8th March 2014, 03:36 PM   |  #5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,996
 
11,394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwed

Wow. So it is indeed bad. Why?

What i did:
Backup01: Restore phone to defaults, root, backup of all (including cache and recovery).
Backup02: Configure my phone, backup of all (including cache and recovery).
Backup03: Install apps, backup of all (including cache and recovery).

Should I restore to each of them and make a new backup without cache and recovery?

Thanks.

What you did isn't bad, it's just the backups will be larger and they have information in them you don't need. Recovery is your twrp recovery and the cache will be recreated when you boot your device
8th March 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

What you did isn't bad, it's just the backups will be larger and they have information in them you don't need. Recovery is your twrp recovery and the cache will be recreated when you boot your device

OK I see. Then can I just keep those backups with all efs, cache and recovery included? May it lead to problems in future restores?

Thank you!
8th March 2014, 03:43 PM   |  #7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,996
 
11,394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwed

OK I see. Then can I just keep those backups with all efs, cache and recovery included? May it lead to problems in future restores?

Thank you!

You should be ok. The one thing you never want to do is restore an efs partition from one phone onto another phone. That is an instant hosed phone that you can't recovery from.
8th March 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

You should be ok. The one thing you never want to do is restore an efs partition from one phone onto another phone. That is an instant hosed phone that you can't recovery from.

Yes... I'm reading several articles on that! Pretty scary... I'm gonna do as rootSU suggested and make 2 different backups and store 2 copies offsite, somewhere cloud-based...

I'll then keep these backups I made with all selected. With your first post I thought... I don't know... that maybe restoring these images with all recovery, cache and efs might lead to problems when booting.
If I understand correctly, this is not the case, I just misunderstood you, what you meant is that "it doesn't hurt, it's just not needed", right?

Thank you jd!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes