Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,559 Members 41,175 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

TWRP Backup - cache, recovery

Tip us?
 
rwed
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default TWRP Backup - cache, recovery

Hi all.

I've been doing backups of my Nexus 5 with TRWP. I chose all options, that is I added 'cache' and 'recovery'.

Question: Is that bad? Should I not backup those?

Thanks.
 
jd1639
Old
(Last edited by jd1639; 8th March 2014 at 01:52 PM.)
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,208
Posts: 9,506
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Just use the ones it defaults to, system, data, boot. You don't need to backup the others. same with wipe, just use the slider thing. Messing with the others can get you on trouble
One other thing, make one backup of the efs only and store that in a safe place off your phone
 
rootSU
Old
#3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10,763
Posts: 21,927
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Just use the ones it defaults to, system, data, boot. You don't need to backup the others. same with wipe, just use the slider thing. Messing with the others can get you on trouble
One other thing, make one backup of the efs only and store that in a safe place off your phone
Can I recommend having 2 different efs backups on the phone and a copy of each off the phone?

That way you're mitigating the risk of one backup being incomplete and the risk of corruption through transferring the files "offsite"

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rwed
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Mar 2014
Wow. So it is indeed bad. Why?

What i did:
Backup01: Restore phone to defaults, root, backup of all (including cache and recovery).
Backup02: Configure my phone, backup of all (including cache and recovery).
Backup03: Install apps, backup of all (including cache and recovery).

Should I restore to each of them and make a new backup without cache and recovery?

Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Just use the ones it defaults to, system, data, boot. You don't need to backup the others. same with wipe, just use the slider thing. Messing with the others can get you on trouble
One other thing, make one backup of the efs only and store that in a safe place off your phone
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Can I recommend having 2 different efs backups on the phone and a copy of each off the phone?

That way you're mitigating the risk of one backup being incomplete and the risk of corruption through transferring the files "offsite"

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
jd1639
Old
#5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,208
Posts: 9,506
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwed View Post
Wow. So it is indeed bad. Why?

What i did:
Backup01: Restore phone to defaults, root, backup of all (including cache and recovery).
Backup02: Configure my phone, backup of all (including cache and recovery).
Backup03: Install apps, backup of all (including cache and recovery).

Should I restore to each of them and make a new backup without cache and recovery?

Thanks.
What you did isn't bad, it's just the backups will be larger and they have information in them you don't need. Recovery is your twrp recovery and the cache will be recreated when you boot your device
 
rwed
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
What you did isn't bad, it's just the backups will be larger and they have information in them you don't need. Recovery is your twrp recovery and the cache will be recreated when you boot your device
OK I see. Then can I just keep those backups with all efs, cache and recovery included? May it lead to problems in future restores?

Thank you!
 
jd1639
Old
#7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,208
Posts: 9,506
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwed View Post
OK I see. Then can I just keep those backups with all efs, cache and recovery included? May it lead to problems in future restores?

Thank you!
You should be ok. The one thing you never want to do is restore an efs partition from one phone onto another phone. That is an instant hosed phone that you can't recovery from.
 
rwed
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
You should be ok. The one thing you never want to do is restore an efs partition from one phone onto another phone. That is an instant hosed phone that you can't recovery from.
Yes... I'm reading several articles on that! Pretty scary... I'm gonna do as rootSU suggested and make 2 different backups and store 2 copies offsite, somewhere cloud-based...

I'll then keep these backups I made with all selected. With your first post I thought... I don't know... that maybe restoring these images with all recovery, cache and efs might lead to problems when booting.
If I understand correctly, this is not the case, I just misunderstood you, what you meant is that "it doesn't hurt, it's just not needed", right?

Thank you jd!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes