Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,053 Members 46,516 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] TWRP issue: E:Unable to mount storage.

Tip us?
 
leoncheong
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default [Q] TWRP issue: E:Unable to mount storage.

Help. I have the this error when I start TWRP
Code:
E:Unable to mount storage.
This stop me from doing backup in TWRP..

I have tried to re-flash TWRP. I have also tried flash the recovery.img from Google, and then flash TWRP. The problem still there.

I even try to nearly did a factory the full factory image by doing

Code:
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-hammerhead-HHZ11d.img
fastboot reboot-bootloader
ping -n 5 127.0.0.1 >nul
fastboot flash radio radio-hammerhead-m8974a-1.0.25.0.23.img
fastboot reboot-bootloader
ping -n 5 127.0.0.1 >nul
fastboot flash system system.img
fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot flash cache cache.img

and then restart phone,. booth into phone, and reboot to recovery and flash TWRP...
Are there anything else that I can do? Please help...
 
jd1639
Old
(Last edited by jd1639; 18th January 2014 at 03:04 AM.)
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3039
Posts: 9,051
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Are you using twrp 2.6.3.4? Go into wipe and then format data. Backup first
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jsparta26
Old
#3  
Jsparta26's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 586
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Detroit, MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Are you using twrp 2.6.3.4? Go into wipe and then format data. Backup first
He's not able to backup. That's the point of his problem. Still trying wiping dalvik and cache first. Then try data. If that don't work trying flashing cwm or Philz's touch recovery.
[/SIGPIC] How many noobs does it take to get the answers they want? I say 4. One to Attempt to use a PC. Second one to download the wrong files. Third one to brick their device. The 4th to come on here crying about his device being bricked.
The Following User Says Thank You to Jsparta26 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
leoncheong
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2013
I tried to wiping dalvik and cache... the problem remains.
I then tried to wipe data but preserve /data/media, which is the default action. The problem remains...

I really don't want to reset my phone to factory state with internal memory completely wiped... any help, please?
 
jd1639
Old
#5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3039
Posts: 9,051
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by leoncheong View Post
I tried to wiping dalvik and cache... the problem remains.
I then tried to wipe data but preserve /data/media, which is the default action. The problem remains...

I really don't want to reset my phone to factory state with internal memory completely wiped... any help, please?
Don't think you have a choice if you want the phone to work. You're going to have to format the data.
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
WarRaven
Old
#6  
WarRaven's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 277
Posts: 794
Join Date: May 2007
Sound like you missed a reboot before installing custom recovery after unlocking boot.

WR

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
N3xusS
Old
#7  
N3xusS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 128
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Vanzo
I solve it flashing to stock rom and re installing the recovery.. It is the only way.. I had the same problem

Inviato dal mio Nexus 7 utilizzando Tapatalk
Device: Nexus 5
Rom: Omnirom
Kernel: Franco r53

Device: Nexus 7 2013
Rom: Stock 4.4.3
Kernel: Stock
The Following User Says Thank You to N3xusS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
leoncheong
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks for all your suggestions! I took the pain to wipe the phone.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes