Add Frequency Bands to Your Qualcomm Device

Those of you who travel quite a bit undoubtedly own more than one device due to frequency band … more

More Android 5.0 Details Revealed, Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker – XDA TV

Google talks more about Android 5.0 Lollipop! That and much … more

Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner of American phone manufacturer … more
Post Reply

[Q] Unable to erase cache partition

OP jpabloae

13th June 2014, 08:36 AM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Full normal instructions are linked in my signature

I might be missing something, but on the signature's guide, in the last step (Locking your bootloader+ Resetting the tamper flag) it uses TWRP to install the zip file that resets the temper flag, and this process lockes the bootloader as well. I mean, after doing this you don't end up with the stock recovery but with TWRP.
13th June 2014, 08:56 AM   |  #12  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,388
 
23,448 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpabloae

I might be missing something, but on the signature's guide, in the last step (Locking your bootloader+ Resetting the tamper flag) it uses TWRP to install the zip file that resets the temper flag, and this process lockes the bootloader as well. I mean, after doing this you don't end up with the stock recovery but with TWRP.

In the steps he doesn't flash TWRP. He boots to it.

fastboot boot recovery.img

as opposed to

fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

That means you have stock recovery already installed at that point and you do not replace it.

There is also an app called BootUnlocker, which resets the taper flag from within android (With root) so you can just use that. I use that and mine is constantly showing as not tampered
13th June 2014, 10:51 AM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

In the steps he doesn't flash TWRP. He boots to it.

You're absolutely right, I took it for granted it was necessary to flash it before using it. My phone is now 100% recovered, thank you so much!
13th June 2014, 11:07 AM   |  #14  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,388
 
23,448 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpabloae

You're absolutely right, I took it for granted it was necessary to flash it before using it. My phone is now 100% recovered, thank you so much!

No probs
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank