Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,106 Members 41,363 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unable to mount Data issue

Tip us?
 
maxal
Old
#11  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 863
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Peel, Isle of Man
I would like to add to what Koopa777 said that flashing a factory image was just a tempory fix as I tried this several times, but so far so good the data issue has not re occured since I used the LG Flashtool.
Asus Vivotab tf810c Windows 8.1.1
HTC One unlocked+rooted+S-Off GPE 4.4.4
Nokia Lumia 930
The Following User Says Thank You to maxal For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Koopa777
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 595
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxal View Post
I would like to add to what Koopa777 said that flashing a factory image was just a tempory fix as I tried this several times, but so far so good the data issue has not re occured since I used the LG Flashtool.
Cool, I'll keep that in mind in case the new one gets it. Could you try something for me though? PA 4.2 BETA 5 always set it off for me. It booted fine, but the recovery was always borked when I rebooted into recovery. If your's survives that, I think that it could definitely be the fix.
Phone: Google Nexus 5 "hammerhead" ROM: LiquidSmooth F2FS Kernel: ElementalX 1.00
Tablet: Amazon Kindle Fire (Gen 1) "otterx" ROM: CM11-F2FS by Hashcode
Tablet: Google Nexus 10 "manta" ROM: LiquidSmooth F2FS-All Kernel: KT-Manta F2FS-All
Retired: Sprint Motorola Photon 4G "sunfire", Sprint LG G2 "LS980"
 
maxal
Old
#13  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 863
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Peel, Isle of Man
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koopa777 View Post
Cool, I'll keep that in mind in case the new one gets it. Could you try something for me though? PA 4.2 BETA 5 always set it off for me. It booted fine, but the recovery was always borked when I rebooted into recovery. If your's survives that, I think that it could definitely be the fix.
No problem I will test PA 4.2 beta tomorrow for you.
Asus Vivotab tf810c Windows 8.1.1
HTC One unlocked+rooted+S-Off GPE 4.4.4
Nokia Lumia 930
 
reaper000
Old
(Last edited by reaper000; 30th April 2014 at 07:23 AM.)
#14  
reaper000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 355
Posts: 617
Join Date: Aug 2009
I had the same problem on an installation of a kernel that didn't boot atop a CM rom. When it bootlooped, I went into recovery and found the infamous could not mount /data. I tried rootSU's recommendation about wiping cache several times and flashing a cache.img but it didn't work for me. I was about to do the whole factory stock image thing (and thus wipe my sdcard) when out of desperation to avoid that, I tried something that surprisingly succeeded. The following steps are for a newbie but presupposes a working knowledge of how to use adb and fastboot commands.
1. Download and copy a known stable ROM's zip file into your SDK's platform-tools, renaming it ROM.zip
2. Boot you phone into (TWRP 2.7.0.0) recovery
2. Choose ADB sideload in Advanced
3. From your computer's DOS prompt in the SDK platform-tools directory, type adb sideload ROM.zip
When it's done sideloading, it will flash
4. Choose reboot system
It will boot and get a series of FC's of android process and dialer
5. Hard reset into bootloader (hold down the power button until screen goes off (in like 7 secs) immediately hit vol-down) and choose recovery
Voila! Rebooted into recovery for me with data mounted as normal. No need to flash factory images!

Hope this helps and good luck!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes