FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

Unable to mount Data issue

1,196 posts
Thanks Meter: 254
 
By maxal, Senior Member on 19th April 2014, 05:42 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
29th April 2014, 05:02 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Flag Peel, Isle of Man
Thanks Meter: 254
 
More
I would like to add to what Koopa777 said that flashing a factory image was just a tempory fix as I tried this several times, but so far so good the data issue has not re occured since I used the LG Flashtool.
The Following User Says Thank You to maxal For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
29th April 2014, 06:49 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxal

I would like to add to what Koopa777 said that flashing a factory image was just a tempory fix as I tried this several times, but so far so good the data issue has not re occured since I used the LG Flashtool.

Cool, I'll keep that in mind in case the new one gets it. Could you try something for me though? PA 4.2 BETA 5 always set it off for me. It booted fine, but the recovery was always borked when I rebooted into recovery. If your's survives that, I think that it could definitely be the fix.
29th April 2014, 06:53 PM |#13  
OP Senior Member
Flag Peel, Isle of Man
Thanks Meter: 254
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koopa777

Cool, I'll keep that in mind in case the new one gets it. Could you try something for me though? PA 4.2 BETA 5 always set it off for me. It booted fine, but the recovery was always borked when I rebooted into recovery. If your's survives that, I think that it could definitely be the fix.

No problem I will test PA 4.2 beta tomorrow for you.
30th April 2014, 07:19 AM |#14  
reaper000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 556
 
More
I had the same problem on an installation of a kernel that didn't boot atop a CM rom. When it bootlooped, I went into recovery and found the infamous could not mount /data. I tried rootSU's recommendation about wiping cache several times and flashing a cache.img but it didn't work for me. I was about to do the whole factory stock image thing (and thus wipe my sdcard) when out of desperation to avoid that, I tried something that surprisingly succeeded. The following steps are for a newbie but presupposes a working knowledge of how to use adb and fastboot commands.
1. Download and copy a known stable ROM's zip file into your SDK's platform-tools, renaming it ROM.zip
2. Boot you phone into (TWRP 2.7.0.0) recovery
2. Choose ADB sideload in Advanced
3. From your computer's DOS prompt in the SDK platform-tools directory, type adb sideload ROM.zip
When it's done sideloading, it will flash
4. Choose reboot system
It will boot and get a series of FC's of android process and dialer
5. Hard reset into bootloader (hold down the power button until screen goes off (in like 7 secs) immediately hit vol-down) and choose recovery
Voila! Rebooted into recovery for me with data mounted as normal. No need to flash factory images!

Hope this helps and good luck!
Last edited by reaper000; 30th April 2014 at 07:23 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to reaper000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd March 2015, 06:01 PM |#15  
AquilaDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 485
 
More
I know that this thread is nearly a year old, but just wanted to report that my phone soft bricked when I flashed a kernel (without flashing the rom). TWRP (2.8.5) was unable to mount data, storage, /data/media. When I went into TWRP/Advanced/File Manager there was nothing in the sd card. After an ADB flash cache cache.img it was still the same. I decided to follow the @reeper000 post and it booted into the ROM i flashed (Slim Lollipop version) and it came up with only a couple errors. I was then able to go into TWRP and restore a nandroid backup and all is fine. I was sooooooo close to erasing data/restoring to a factory image!!!!!! THANKS, @reaper000!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AquilaDroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd March 2015, 07:05 PM |#16  
zerosum0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Glad all well. I had 2 nasty surprises yesterday. First I flashed a nandroid
, only one I had. It kept going past 100 %on loading the data. Went to 300%! I'd one rom with Gapps I'd not tried so I thought saved.. Aghhhhhh Noo when it came on said playstore support missing. Had to tap like mad to get it off the screen in between putting my acc in. 2 hours later it linked and downloaded the missing file. Thank god. Then my baseband went! I was at my wits end. Decided I'd nothing to loose with a factory reset which fixed it. Good job as the new battery came today! Now I test backups and have two different ones
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes