Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,106 Members 41,769 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

unroot without loosing anything on my phone

Tip us?
 
sillyshyme
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 289
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default unroot without loosing anything on my phone

I want to be able to unroot but not have to reinstall all apps (with no data) and the phone settings returning to default I want to be able to just unroot without erase anything how can this be possible?
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,345
Posts: 9,808
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Have you tired the unroot option within supersu?
 
rootSU
Old
#3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,394
Posts: 22,424
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Why do you want to unroot? What do you want to ultimately achieve. Removing root to use a banking app is one thing. Returning to stock to receive ota updates is another.

Please give as much detail and reasoning as possible

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
mistahseller
Old
#4  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 797
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyshyme View Post
I want to be able to unroot but not have to reinstall all apps (with no data) and the phone settings returning to default I want to be able to just unroot without erase anything how can this be possible?
Go to settings in the superuser app and at the bottom it says "full unroot". And then factory reset is in order to make the phone go back to default with no apps on it.
 
sillyshyme
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 289
Join Date: Sep 2009
Some apps such as tivo or watch ABC or FOX or HBO will not work. Amazon prime movies also.
unless their are a way to bypass this trick?




Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Why do you want to unroot? What do you want to ultimately achieve. Removing root to use a banking app is one thing. Returning to stock to receive ota updates is another.

Please give as much detail and reasoning as possible

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
 
rootSU
Old
#6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,394
Posts: 22,424
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyshyme View Post
Some apps such as tivo or watch ABC or FOX or HBO will not work. Amazon prime movies also.
unless their are a way to bypass this trick?
In which case as mentioned by the others, you can unroot via superuser apps.

Although there are tricks/apps to hide root from these apps too. Have a look around the android apps forum on xda

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
PhilipTD
Old
#7  
PhilipTD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 381
Posts: 1,736
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyshyme View Post
Some apps such as tivo or watch ABC or FOX or HBO will not work. Amazon prime movies also.
unless their are a way to bypass this trick?
Amazon restricts streaming to the Kindle device. HBO Go works fine on my phone.

NEXUS 5 STOCK KK444 FK XPOSED TWRP

 
 
mistahseller
Old
#8  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 797
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
You could try this: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...otadfree&hl=en

If you have xposed on your phone there is also this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2574647

This is also the google search that you can look around in

https://www.google.com/search?q=hide...en-US:official

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more