5,605,120 Members 37,412 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

unroot without loosing anything on my phone

Tip us?
 
sillyshyme
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 285
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default unroot without loosing anything on my phone

I want to be able to unroot but not have to reinstall all apps (with no data) and the phone settings returning to default I want to be able to just unroot without erase anything how can this be possible?
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2273
Posts: 7,459
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Have you tired the unroot option within supersu?
 
rootSU
Old
#3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7511
Posts: 18,124
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Why do you want to unroot? What do you want to ultimately achieve. Removing root to use a banking app is one thing. Returning to stock to receive ota updates is another.

Please give as much detail and reasoning as possible

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
mistahseller
Old
#4  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 172
Posts: 743
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyshyme View Post
I want to be able to unroot but not have to reinstall all apps (with no data) and the phone settings returning to default I want to be able to just unroot without erase anything how can this be possible?
Go to settings in the superuser app and at the bottom it says "full unroot". And then factory reset is in order to make the phone go back to default with no apps on it.
 
sillyshyme
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 285
Join Date: Sep 2009
Some apps such as tivo or watch ABC or FOX or HBO will not work. Amazon prime movies also.
unless their are a way to bypass this trick?




Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Why do you want to unroot? What do you want to ultimately achieve. Removing root to use a banking app is one thing. Returning to stock to receive ota updates is another.

Please give as much detail and reasoning as possible

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
 
rootSU
Old
#6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7511
Posts: 18,124
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyshyme View Post
Some apps such as tivo or watch ABC or FOX or HBO will not work. Amazon prime movies also.
unless their are a way to bypass this trick?
In which case as mentioned by the others, you can unroot via superuser apps.

Although there are tricks/apps to hide root from these apps too. Have a look around the android apps forum on xda

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
PhilipTD
Old
#7  
PhilipTD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 349
Posts: 1,682
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyshyme View Post
Some apps such as tivo or watch ABC or FOX or HBO will not work. Amazon prime movies also.
unless their are a way to bypass this trick?
Amazon restricts streaming to the Kindle device. HBO Go works fine on my phone.

NEXUS 5 D820 STOCK KK442 FK47 DALVIK XPOSED TWRP2734

 
 
mistahseller
Old
#8  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 172
Posts: 743
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
You could try this: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...otadfree&hl=en

If you have xposed on your phone there is also this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2574647

This is also the google search that you can look around in

https://www.google.com/search?q=hide...en-US:official

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more