Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

upgrade version without computer

OP fooboo

24th June 2014, 06:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Could someone point me to tutorial how to upgrade
nexus 5 to future 4.5 or 5.0 without using the compu-
ter? The cause it that I have openbsd and freebsd no-
des and no mac, win or linux. My best bet is it should
be the same as upgrading to 4.4.3 or alike.
I assume factory image would delete all files on the
phone. Is there any way to avoid that?
Best regards all.
24th June 2014, 07:36 AM   |  #2  
raul90's Avatar
Member
Flag Monterrey
Thanks Meter: 17
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
if you're not rooted or have your phone modified in any way, it should arrive via OTA, you don't need a PC.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
24th June 2014, 07:41 AM   |  #3  
flashback7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio Texas
Thanks Meter: 1,368
 
2,788 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Yes what person above said is correct. Also if you aren't getting ota you can manually make it pop up.. By doing this:

Goto*Settings ->Apps-> (scroll over to all apps) then go down to Google Services Framework*then hit “Clear data”

Do that over and over and every time you do it go to settings and check for update over and over and make sure you have a good signal and it should come up at some point.

Sent from my Nexus 5
Last edited by flashback7; 24th June 2014 at 07:44 AM.
24th June 2014, 02:25 PM   |  #4  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,061
 
10,991 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Adb exists for BSD also....
http://www.freshports.org/devel/android-tools-adb/

#stayparanoid
24th June 2014, 02:34 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 173
 
700 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashback7

Yes what person above said is correct. Also if you aren't getting ota you can manually make it pop up.. By doing this:

Goto*Settings ->Apps-> (scroll over to all apps) then go down to Google Services Framework*then hit “Clear data”

Do that over and over and every time you do it go to settings and check for update over and over and make sure you have a good signal and it should come up at some point.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Google Engineer recommends that you not do that: http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/11...ramework-data/
http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comm...mework/cdiymrp
24th June 2014, 03:00 PM   |  #6  
flashback7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio Texas
Thanks Meter: 1,368
 
2,788 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj14

Google Engineer recommends that you not do that: http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/11...ramework-data/
http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comm...mework/cdiymrp

I wouldn't care if the pope said it wasn't good it's never done anything to any of my phones and I've been doing it for years. Haha. Cool article though, nice read.. Tks

Sent from my Nexus 5
24th June 2014, 03:50 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Adb exists for BSD also....
http://www.freshports.org/devel/android-tools-adb/

Ah! Thanks a lot! Gonna look at it with pleasure.
Aside this way, I was not sure if about half of gb might be downloaded
via OTA. Probably it should not be a problem. My first thought was it
was too big to be handled.

Quote:

#stayparanoid

More than this? No meds?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes