Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,761 Members 41,801 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

upgrade version without computer

Tip us?
 
fooboo
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 32
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default upgrade version without computer

Could someone point me to tutorial how to upgrade
nexus 5 to future 4.5 or 5.0 without using the compu-
ter? The cause it that I have openbsd and freebsd no-
des and no mac, win or linux. My best bet is it should
be the same as upgrading to 4.4.3 or alike.
I assume factory image would delete all files on the
phone. Is there any way to avoid that?
Best regards all.
 
raul90
Old
#2  
raul90's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 82
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Monterrey
if you're not rooted or have your phone modified in any way, it should arrive via OTA, you don't need a PC.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
flashback7
Old
(Last edited by flashback7; 24th June 2014 at 06:44 AM.)
#3  
flashback7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1320
Posts: 2,699
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Antonio Texas
Yes what person above said is correct. Also if you aren't getting ota you can manually make it pop up.. By doing this:

Goto*Settings ->Apps-> (scroll over to all apps) then go down to Google Services Framework*then hit “Clear data”

Do that over and over and every time you do it go to settings and check for update over and over and make sure you have a good signal and it should come up at some point.

Sent from my Nexus 5
HTC EVO LTE
 
Pirateghost
Old
#4  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6203
Posts: 10,032
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Adb exists for BSD also....
http://www.freshports.org/devel/android-tools-adb/

#stayparanoid
 
jj14
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 142
Posts: 597
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashback7 View Post
Yes what person above said is correct. Also if you aren't getting ota you can manually make it pop up.. By doing this:

Goto*Settings ->Apps-> (scroll over to all apps) then go down to Google Services Framework*then hit “Clear data”

Do that over and over and every time you do it go to settings and check for update over and over and make sure you have a good signal and it should come up at some point.

Sent from my Nexus 5
Google Engineer recommends that you not do that: http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/11...ramework-data/
http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comm...mework/cdiymrp
 
flashback7
Old
#6  
flashback7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1320
Posts: 2,699
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Antonio Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj14 View Post
I wouldn't care if the pope said it wasn't good it's never done anything to any of my phones and I've been doing it for years. Haha. Cool article though, nice read.. Tks

Sent from my Nexus 5
HTC EVO LTE
 
fooboo
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 32
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post
Ah! Thanks a lot! Gonna look at it with pleasure.
Aside this way, I was not sure if about half of gb might be downloaded
via OTA. Probably it should not be a problem. My first thought was it
was too big to be handled.

Quote:
#stayparanoid
More than this? No meds?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more