Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more
Post Reply

upgrade version without computer

24th June 2014, 05:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Could someone point me to tutorial how to upgrade
nexus 5 to future 4.5 or 5.0 without using the compu-
ter? The cause it that I have openbsd and freebsd no-
des and no mac, win or linux. My best bet is it should
be the same as upgrading to 4.4.3 or alike.
I assume factory image would delete all files on the
phone. Is there any way to avoid that?
Best regards all.
24th June 2014, 06:36 AM   |  #2  
raul90's Avatar
Member
Flag Monterrey
Thanks Meter: 17
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
if you're not rooted or have your phone modified in any way, it should arrive via OTA, you don't need a PC.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
24th June 2014, 06:41 AM   |  #3  
flashback7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio Texas
Thanks Meter: 1,337
 
2,734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Yes what person above said is correct. Also if you aren't getting ota you can manually make it pop up.. By doing this:

Goto*Settings ->Apps-> (scroll over to all apps) then go down to Google Services Framework*then hit “Clear data”

Do that over and over and every time you do it go to settings and check for update over and over and make sure you have a good signal and it should come up at some point.

Sent from my Nexus 5
Last edited by flashback7; 24th June 2014 at 06:44 AM.
24th June 2014, 01:25 PM   |  #4  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,523
 
10,672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Adb exists for BSD also....
http://www.freshports.org/devel/android-tools-adb/

#stayparanoid
24th June 2014, 01:34 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 148
 
614 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashback7

Yes what person above said is correct. Also if you aren't getting ota you can manually make it pop up.. By doing this:

Goto*Settings ->Apps-> (scroll over to all apps) then go down to Google Services Framework*then hit “Clear data”

Do that over and over and every time you do it go to settings and check for update over and over and make sure you have a good signal and it should come up at some point.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Google Engineer recommends that you not do that: http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/11...ramework-data/
http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comm...mework/cdiymrp
24th June 2014, 02:00 PM   |  #6  
flashback7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio Texas
Thanks Meter: 1,337
 
2,734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj14

Google Engineer recommends that you not do that: http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/11...ramework-data/
http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comm...mework/cdiymrp

I wouldn't care if the pope said it wasn't good it's never done anything to any of my phones and I've been doing it for years. Haha. Cool article though, nice read.. Tks

Sent from my Nexus 5
24th June 2014, 02:50 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Adb exists for BSD also....
http://www.freshports.org/devel/android-tools-adb/

Ah! Thanks a lot! Gonna look at it with pleasure.
Aside this way, I was not sure if about half of gb might be downloaded
via OTA. Probably it should not be a problem. My first thought was it
was too big to be handled.

Quote:

#stayparanoid

More than this? No meds?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank