Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,209 Members 48,514 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

upgrade version without computer

Tip us?
 
fooboo
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 32
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default upgrade version without computer

Could someone point me to tutorial how to upgrade
nexus 5 to future 4.5 or 5.0 without using the compu-
ter? The cause it that I have openbsd and freebsd no-
des and no mac, win or linux. My best bet is it should
be the same as upgrading to 4.4.3 or alike.
I assume factory image would delete all files on the
phone. Is there any way to avoid that?
Best regards all.
 
raul90
Old
#2  
raul90's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 83
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Monterrey
if you're not rooted or have your phone modified in any way, it should arrive via OTA, you don't need a PC.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
flashback7
Old
(Last edited by flashback7; 24th June 2014 at 06:44 AM.)
#3  
flashback7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1320
Posts: 2,700
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Antonio Texas
Yes what person above said is correct. Also if you aren't getting ota you can manually make it pop up.. By doing this:

Goto*Settings ->Apps-> (scroll over to all apps) then go down to Google Services Framework*then hit “Clear data”

Do that over and over and every time you do it go to settings and check for update over and over and make sure you have a good signal and it should come up at some point.

Sent from my Nexus 5
HTC EVO LTE
 
Pirateghost
Old
#4  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6312
Posts: 10,088
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Adb exists for BSD also....
http://www.freshports.org/devel/android-tools-adb/

#stayparanoid
 
jj14
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 600
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashback7 View Post
Yes what person above said is correct. Also if you aren't getting ota you can manually make it pop up.. By doing this:

Goto*Settings ->Apps-> (scroll over to all apps) then go down to Google Services Framework*then hit “Clear data”

Do that over and over and every time you do it go to settings and check for update over and over and make sure you have a good signal and it should come up at some point.

Sent from my Nexus 5
Google Engineer recommends that you not do that: http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/11...ramework-data/
http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comm...mework/cdiymrp
 
flashback7
Old
#6  
flashback7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1320
Posts: 2,700
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Antonio Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj14 View Post
I wouldn't care if the pope said it wasn't good it's never done anything to any of my phones and I've been doing it for years. Haha. Cool article though, nice read.. Tks

Sent from my Nexus 5
HTC EVO LTE
 
fooboo
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 32
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post
Ah! Thanks a lot! Gonna look at it with pleasure.
Aside this way, I was not sure if about half of gb might be downloaded
via OTA. Probably it should not be a problem. My first thought was it
was too big to be handled.

Quote:
#stayparanoid
More than this? No meds?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more