5,593,587 Members 37,900 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Upgraded to 4.4.2 and lost root... I've searched but can't fix it...

Tip us?
 
sofakng
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 153
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Upgraded to 4.4.2 and lost root... I've searched but can't fix it...

I've received the 4.4.2 OTA update on my phone and I lost root.

This seems to be common, and I re-installed CWM (and I also tried TWRP) custom recoveries and they both work fine.

However, SuperSU and the SU binary seem to be halfway installed/broken.

How can I fix it?

SuperSU says it needs to update the SU binary, and if I try the normal method it fails and if I try the TWRP/CWM method it doesn't do anything.
 
thenobol
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 125
Posts: 164
Join Date: Nov 2013
so you can't flash supersu via cwm?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
Keep Calm, and push the THANKS button
Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to thenobol For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sofakng
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 153
Join Date: Nov 2010
CWM wasn't asking to install SuperSU and I wasn't sure what to flash...

However, I just used the cf-autoroot boot image and it worked.

Thanks for the help!
The Following User Says Thank You to sofakng For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jd1639
Old
#4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2224
Posts: 7,290
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
You have to flash super su in twrp or cwm recovery. Not from the super su app
 
ralphkaz
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 53
Join Date: Nov 2008
I just clicked on the root button in WugFresh toolkit and it re-rooted it for me... easy peasy...
 
Shinyhead
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 119
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fullerton
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphkaz View Post
I just clicked on the root button in WugFresh toolkit and it re-rooted it for me... easy peasy...
Same way I do it, since I am lazy....
 
jd1639
Old
#7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2224
Posts: 7,290
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinyhead View Post
Same way I do it, since I am lazy....
That's a Hell of a lot more with than just flashing it in recovery
 
Shinyhead
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 119
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fullerton
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
That's a Hell of a lot more with than just flashing it in recovery
Yea I know, but I have to remember the command, then open a cmd prompt to that directory with fastboot and type the it in....haha i'm just super lazy on this
 
jd1639
Old
#9  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2224
Posts: 7,290
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinyhead View Post
Yea I know, but I have to remember the command, then open a cmd prompt to that directory with fastboot and type the it in....haha i'm just super lazy on this
A command window? I just boot into recovery and flash it.
 
Ben36
Old
#10  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1371
Posts: 5,003
Join Date: Jun 2012
Flash in recovery - https://mega.co.nz/#!xk92nAZI!t2-Mhj...nETqnUdqFXkr9w


Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Windows Phone 8.1 Developer Preview Now Available!

About two weeks ago at the BUILD conference in San Francisco, Microsoft unveiled Windows … more

Prevent Unwanted Butt Dialing with Smart Pocket Guard

You may recall that back in August of last year, we took a look atAir SwiperbyXDA … more

Google ATAP Details Project Ara in Developers’ Conference

Earlier today, the Google ATAP teamkicked offits first ever Project Ara … more