Post Reply

Newest version?

OP Eppidemic

22nd January 2014, 07:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I have the 401K version of the N5. I loose signal all the time. Which is the newest versions?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
22nd January 2014, 07:33 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,193
 
23,210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eppidemic

I have the 401K version of the N5. I loose signal all the time. Which is the newest versions?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2597276

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd January 2014, 07:33 PM   |  #3  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,106
 
13,362 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
There is only one version, rev_11. All 401k means it was made in January 2014

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 05:58 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eppidemic

I have the 401K version of the N5. I loose signal all the time. Which is the newest versions?

As others mentioned, there is no other know 'revision' or whatever.

The issue with signal loss is nothing new. Many have the same problem. Why some do not is a mystery. Google is aware of it of course but has not acknowledged it so far. Take your pick but its all the same cause -

http://productforums.google.com/foru...us/7s7DsI4DUYo

http://productforums.google.com/foru...us/hTUtTzQbEKc

http://productforums.google.com/foru...us/eOToYgJXdrw

http://productforums.google.com/foru...us/pmRlIQb1v0k

NOTE: The links above are just a few of the many threads talking about the same issue on the google product forum.


My 2 cents, I blame the QFE1100 Qualcomm chip (the Note 3 had this same issue - poor LTE connectivity - and Samsung ended up releasing a patch for it). For background on the QFE1100, see these two links:
http://www.qualcomm.com/media/blog/2...s-worlds-first
http://www.anandtech.com/show/7376/s...ote-3-review/7

The only 2 phones which currently use the QFE1100 are the N5 and the Note 3.

Quote:

LTE signal strength is very low (even when it shouldn't be - compare with other phones on same carrier side by side with the Nexus 5). The phone will intermittently lose signal (NO INTERNET CONNECTION) when it switches from LTE to HSPA.

Checking "Cell Standby Time" under battery stats in the settings menu will show a HIGH 'Time without Signal' %. Everyone who has their phone set to LTE Preferred should be checking this stat. If its abnormally high, then its not working properly.

Manually setting the phone to 3G instead of "LTE Preferred" is a workaround to this issue. This is a band-aid fix only.

Why does this happen? Perhaps its the implementation of the QFE1100. Perhaps its software. Perhaps it is really bad hardware/antenna placement/design.

Last edited by A51Janitor; 23rd January 2014 at 06:08 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank