Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,200 Members 40,561 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Newest version?

Tip us?
 
Eppidemic
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 65
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Newest version?

I have the 401K version of the N5. I loose signal all the time. Which is the newest versions?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
rootSU
Old
#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10054
Posts: 21,178
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eppidemic View Post
I have the 401K version of the N5. I loose signal all the time. Which is the newest versions?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2597276

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
EddyOS
Old
#3  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2940
Posts: 13,164
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside
There is only one version, rev_11. All 401k means it was made in January 2014

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
OnePlus One (Sandstone Black) 64GB
ROM: CyanogenMod 11S (XNPH25R)

HTC One M8 (Gunmetal Grey) 16GB
ROM: 2.22.401.4 (KTU84L) | HBOOT: 3.18.0.0000 S-OFF | Recovery: Stock | Baseband: 1.19.2133147.09G_20.57.4196.01L_F | Kernel: Stock | CID: HTC__001

If you have a question, great - but DO NOT PM ME WITH IT!!! | [GUIDE] Return your EU M8 to 100% Stock (S-OFF Required) | [GUIDE] Return your OPO to 100% Stock
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
A51Janitor
Old
(Last edited by A51Janitor; 23rd January 2014 at 06:08 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eppidemic View Post
I have the 401K version of the N5. I loose signal all the time. Which is the newest versions?
As others mentioned, there is no other know 'revision' or whatever.

The issue with signal loss is nothing new. Many have the same problem. Why some do not is a mystery. Google is aware of it of course but has not acknowledged it so far. Take your pick but its all the same cause -

http://productforums.google.com/foru...us/7s7DsI4DUYo

http://productforums.google.com/foru...us/hTUtTzQbEKc

http://productforums.google.com/foru...us/eOToYgJXdrw

http://productforums.google.com/foru...us/pmRlIQb1v0k

NOTE: The links above are just a few of the many threads talking about the same issue on the google product forum.


My 2 cents, I blame the QFE1100 Qualcomm chip (the Note 3 had this same issue - poor LTE connectivity - and Samsung ended up releasing a patch for it). For background on the QFE1100, see these two links:
http://www.qualcomm.com/media/blog/2...s-worlds-first
http://www.anandtech.com/show/7376/s...ote-3-review/7

The only 2 phones which currently use the QFE1100 are the N5 and the Note 3.

Quote:
LTE signal strength is very low (even when it shouldn't be - compare with other phones on same carrier side by side with the Nexus 5). The phone will intermittently lose signal (NO INTERNET CONNECTION) when it switches from LTE to HSPA.

Checking "Cell Standby Time" under battery stats in the settings menu will show a HIGH 'Time without Signal' %. Everyone who has their phone set to LTE Preferred should be checking this stat. If its abnormally high, then its not working properly.

Manually setting the phone to 3G instead of "LTE Preferred" is a workaround to this issue. This is a band-aid fix only.

Why does this happen? Perhaps its the implementation of the QFE1100. Perhaps its software. Perhaps it is really bad hardware/antenna placement/design.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes