5,814,863 Members 49,181 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Weak LTE signal

Tip us?
 
Android.Addiction
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 87
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Weak LTE signal

I have the Google Nexus 5 and in the Dallas, TX area I'm seeing VERY weak LTE signals. Inside buildings, connectivity is completely cut off (no bars). Outside is better, but I can literally wrap both my hands and cover my phone and it kills the signal completely.

I tried various APN changes I found on Google and XDA but nothing helps. Anyone having this problem? I swapped to AT&T prepaid in the meantime and signals are absolutely fantastic. However I have problems with T-mobile connectivity on this phone no matter where I go in the metroplex.
 
MarcquisDale
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 451
Join Date: Aug 2012
I'll just guess and say T-Mobile suck in your area
 
markdapimp
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,278
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Android.Addiction View Post
I have the Google Nexus 5 and in the Dallas, TX area I'm seeing VERY weak LTE signals. Inside buildings, connectivity is completely cut off (no bars). Outside is better, but I can literally wrap both my hands and cover my phone and it kills the signal completely.

I tried various APN changes I found on Google and XDA but nothing helps. Anyone having this problem? I swapped to AT&T prepaid in the meantime and signals are absolutely fantastic. However I have problems with T-mobile connectivity on this phone no matter where I go in the metroplex.
Download an app on the google play store called Signal Check and report to me your DBM in LTE

---------- Post added at 04:52 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:41 AM ----------



How old is your T-Mobile LTE market for Maui LTE just lit up 3 weeks ago and there still tweaking it so far they replaced only 2 panels on their sites I assume testing. Because I get five bars of hspa+ but LTE is one bar and hspa is serving from the same cell site as LTE

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Devices: Nexus 5 (Sold) 1X
Nexus 5
HTC One
 
Android.Addiction
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 87
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp View Post
Download an app on the google play store called Signal Check and report to me your DBM in LTE

---------- Post added at 04:52 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:41 AM ----------



How old is your T-Mobile LTE market for Maui LTE just lit up 3 weeks ago and there still tweaking it so far they replaced only 2 panels on their sites I assume testing. Because I get five bars of hspa+ but LTE is one bar and hspa is serving from the same cell site as LTE

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Attached.

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1389415860617.jpg
Views:	604
Size:	84.0 KB
ID:	2507929

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
markdapimp
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,278
Join Date: Nov 2013
You do have a weaker LTE signal, try going settings, more, mobile networks, preferred network type

select 3G, report the dbm
Devices: Nexus 5 (Sold) 1X
Nexus 5
HTC One
 
FuMMoD
Old
#6  
FuMMoD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,223
Posts: 4,516
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Here's mine



Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
markdapimp
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,278
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuMMoD View Post
Here's mine



Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
excellent results!
Devices: Nexus 5 (Sold) 1X
Nexus 5
HTC One
 
Android.Addiction
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 87
Join Date: Oct 2012
I did as you asked and it would rapidly swap between three different connection modes. I have attached corresponding screenshots.

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1389416661005.jpg
Views:	480
Size:	81.8 KB
ID:	2507943Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1389416684416.jpg
Views:	467
Size:	82.0 KB
ID:	2507944Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1389416706156.jpg
Views:	464
Size:	81.4 KB
ID:	2507945

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
wenyi189
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Android.Addiction View Post
I have the Google Nexus 5 and in the Dallas, TX area I'm seeing VERY weak LTE signals. Inside buildings, connectivity is completely cut off (no bars). Outside is better, but I can literally wrap both my hands and cover my phone and it kills the signal completely.

I tried various APN changes I found on Google and XDA but nothing helps. Anyone having this problem? I swapped to AT&T prepaid in the meantime and signals are absolutely fantastic. However I have problems with T-mobile connectivity on this phone no matter where I go in the metroplex.
Very weak in Frisco area, just use 3G instead of LTE, if you don't really need the speed.
 
mr.r9
Old
#10  
mr.r9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 538
Join Date: Oct 2006
I have the same issue, LTE is bad, but then the phone all by itself jumps to 3G and I loose the signal for 5/10 seconds while it's changing.
Why is that? Is it because of the modem or because of the infrastructure?

---------- Post added at 08:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:22 AM ----------

I have the same issue, LTE has low signal, but then the phone all by itself jumps to 3G and I loose the signal for 5/10 seconds while it's changing.
Why is that? Is it because of the modem or because of the infrastructure?
Nexus 5 - latest Cataclysm


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes