FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Weak LTE signal

92 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
 
By Android.Addiction, Member on 11th January 2014, 02:53 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have the Google Nexus 5 and in the Dallas, TX area I'm seeing VERY weak LTE signals. Inside buildings, connectivity is completely cut off (no bars). Outside is better, but I can literally wrap both my hands and cover my phone and it kills the signal completely.

I tried various APN changes I found on Google and XDA but nothing helps. Anyone having this problem? I swapped to AT&T prepaid in the meantime and signals are absolutely fantastic. However I have problems with T-mobile connectivity on this phone no matter where I go in the metroplex.
 
 
11th January 2014, 02:56 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
I'll just guess and say T-Mobile suck in your area
11th January 2014, 03:52 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 374
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Android.Addiction

I have the Google Nexus 5 and in the Dallas, TX area I'm seeing VERY weak LTE signals. Inside buildings, connectivity is completely cut off (no bars). Outside is better, but I can literally wrap both my hands and cover my phone and it kills the signal completely.

I tried various APN changes I found on Google and XDA but nothing helps. Anyone having this problem? I swapped to AT&T prepaid in the meantime and signals are absolutely fantastic. However I have problems with T-mobile connectivity on this phone no matter where I go in the metroplex.

Download an app on the google play store called Signal Check and report to me your DBM in LTE

---------- Post added at 04:52 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:41 AM ----------



How old is your T-Mobile LTE market for Maui LTE just lit up 3 weeks ago and there still tweaking it so far they replaced only 2 panels on their sites I assume testing. Because I get five bars of hspa+ but LTE is one bar and hspa is serving from the same cell site as LTE

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
11th January 2014, 04:51 AM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

Download an app on the google play store called Signal Check and report to me your DBM in LTE

---------- Post added at 04:52 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:41 AM ----------



How old is your T-Mobile LTE market for Maui LTE just lit up 3 weeks ago and there still tweaking it so far they replaced only 2 panels on their sites I assume testing. Because I get five bars of hspa+ but LTE is one bar and hspa is serving from the same cell site as LTE

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Attached.

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1389415860617.jpg
Views:	681
Size:	84.0 KB
ID:	2507929

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
11th January 2014, 04:55 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 374
 
More
You do have a weaker LTE signal, try going settings, more, mobile networks, preferred network type

select 3G, report the dbm
11th January 2014, 04:57 AM |#6  
FuMMoD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,675
 
Donate to Me
More
Here's mine



Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
11th January 2014, 05:03 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 374
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuMMoD

Here's mine



Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

excellent results!
11th January 2014, 05:06 AM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I did as you asked and it would rapidly swap between three different connection modes. I have attached corresponding screenshots.

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1389416661005.jpg
Views:	542
Size:	81.8 KB
ID:	2507943Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1389416684416.jpg
Views:	527
Size:	82.0 KB
ID:	2507944Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1389416706156.jpg
Views:	530
Size:	81.4 KB
ID:	2507945

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
11th January 2014, 05:22 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Android.Addiction

I have the Google Nexus 5 and in the Dallas, TX area I'm seeing VERY weak LTE signals. Inside buildings, connectivity is completely cut off (no bars). Outside is better, but I can literally wrap both my hands and cover my phone and it kills the signal completely.

I tried various APN changes I found on Google and XDA but nothing helps. Anyone having this problem? I swapped to AT&T prepaid in the meantime and signals are absolutely fantastic. However I have problems with T-mobile connectivity on this phone no matter where I go in the metroplex.

Very weak in Frisco area, just use 3G instead of LTE, if you don't really need the speed.
11th January 2014, 05:23 AM |#10  
mr.r9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
I have the same issue, LTE is bad, but then the phone all by itself jumps to 3G and I loose the signal for 5/10 seconds while it's changing.
Why is that? Is it because of the modem or because of the infrastructure?

---------- Post added at 08:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:22 AM ----------

I have the same issue, LTE has low signal, but then the phone all by itself jumps to 3G and I loose the signal for 5/10 seconds while it's changing.
Why is that? Is it because of the modem or because of the infrastructure?
11th January 2014, 05:28 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 374
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.r9

I have the same issue, LTE is bad, but then the phone all by itself jumps to 3G and I loose the signal for 5/10 seconds while it's changing.
Why is that? Is it because of the modem or because of the infrastructure?

---------- Post added at 08:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:22 AM ----------

I have the same issue, LTE has low signal, but then the phone all by itself jumps to 3G and I loose the signal for 5/10 seconds while it's changing.
Why is that? Is it because of the modem or because of the infrastructure?

its the Modem the modem wants you to have network that has the best signal, it doesn't care about your data speed. i have a 1 bar LTE connection in my home often times it switches to edge/2g to save battery since its got a higher signal strength

---------- Post added at 06:28 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:25 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Android.Addiction

I did as you asked and it would rapidly swap between three different connection modes. I have attached corresponding screenshots.

Attachment 2507943Attachment 2507944Attachment 2507945

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

They're still tweaking the LTE
it seems as the LTE signal is coming from a sector where you picked up LTE

the other cells sites where you picked up W-CDMA and HSDPA has not been upgraded to LTE just yet

Compare your speeds with 3G and LTE often times they're similar so i just leave it on 3G for now for the better signal
The Following User Says Thank You to markdapimp For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes