FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

Weak LTE signal

92 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
 
By Android.Addiction, Member on 11th January 2014, 02:53 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
11th January 2014, 09:22 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 375
 
More
[QUOTE=mr.r9;49326535]
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

its the Modem the modem wants you to have network that has the best signal, it doesn't care about your data speed. i have a 1 bar LTE connection in my home often times it switches to edge/2g to save battery since its got a higher signal strength[COLOR="Silver"]

---------- Post added at 06:28 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:25 AM ----------

I know why it switches, but my question is why does it the network turn off for 5-10 seconds when switching from LTE to 3G/2G?
My speeds with LTE are excellent, I didn't expect it to be this good (Qatar-Ooredoo [formally Qtel])

Attachment 2508261

I have no idea why it does that but it is what it is
 
 
12th January 2014, 11:05 PM |#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
LTE from movistar Spain
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1389567906642.jpg
Views:	213
Size:	162.1 KB
ID:	2511755

Enviado desde mi Nexus 5 mediante Tapatalk
12th January 2014, 11:48 PM |#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 375
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tidh

LTE from movistar Spain
Attachment 2511755

Enviado desde mi Nexus 5 mediante Tapatalk

How much u pay for that speed?
13th January 2014, 07:08 AM |#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

How much u pay for that speed?

49.9

Movile phone
-Ilimitated calls
-1Gb internet 4G
-ilimitated sms
Home phone
Home ADSL internet 10mb



Enviado desde mi Nexus 5 mediante Tapatalk
16th January 2014, 03:40 PM |#25  
Senior Member
Flag Atascadero
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Here's my Tmo LTE Central Coast Ca.

By grace and banners fallen, the Last Battle has come.
23rd March 2014, 06:22 PM |#26  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I'm on Rogers in Canada. I'm reporting my findings and hopefully this could help.

When I forced my Nexus 5 to only use LTE bands and nothing else. I was able to go to places where the phone would switch to 3G 70% of the time and back again to LTE on the Main Floor. I was able to take it one step futher and headed for the basement where LTE would not exist normaly. With no bars the LTE service continued. 10Mb/s down. And so I went further and started covering up the antenna with my hands and I was down to 5Mb/s down. Just as good as 3G. And with my hands covering the antenna I also used my body and the speed went down to 2Mb/s and stopped working as I was curled up to my hands that was covering my Nexus 5 while in the basement but as soon as I uncovered and a few seconds / minute later the LTE service came back while i was still in the basement.

I don't know if it was a consistent speed but better then 3G with no bars on the LTE side of things.

My assumtion.
The Nexus 5 is interpreting the LTE signal wrong and changes to 3G mode too soon.



I used Network by Philipp Mangelow to change my network settings.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes