Post Reply

What's with MTP driver and device cache?

OP rancur3p1c

29th May 2014, 05:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 71
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I'm on stock ROM and having no end of problems with this. This is just like google, introduce some new feature but don't bother fully testing it. The phone appears to maintain an internal cache of the files and folders on the phone, which sometimes is out of date. It reports this list to the your computer when you connect it. Several times now I've tried to copy off or backup select folders that had files I needed and the cache was out of date so Windows Explorer didn't know there was a file there to request a copy of.

1. why is the device internal storage cache out of date?
2. how do I force it to update to have the CORRECT list of files that you can see in Root Explorer if you go there on the phone itself
3. how do I ensure I've actually grabbed all the files I told it to grab?
4. Is there any other solution for this?
5. Has anyone else experienced this or am I an idiot?
29th May 2014, 05:28 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 71
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
OK well I guess I'm going to answer my question here, this is a known bug
https://code.google.com/p/android/is...etail?id=38282

A workaround is:

Clear the "Media Storage" app's data
Use the SDrescan app to force an update

I can't stress how retarded Google is for not fixing this.
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...-files-via-mtp
SDRescan app has 500k downloads. seriously. w.t.f.
Last edited by rancur3p1c; 29th May 2014 at 05:34 PM.
29th May 2014, 05:43 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 71
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
my. gosh. MTP is completely malfunctioning. I selected 5 folders to copy, it copied .thumbnails from ONE and then just gave up. Won't copy any more.

This is complete garbage. How am I supposed to backup anything?
I'm copying each folder manually now until I run into a problem folder and divide and conquer, but it won't even let you queue up multiple copies at once. What a joke.
29th May 2014, 07:20 PM   |  #4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,263
 
3,161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rancur3p1c

my. gosh. MTP is completely malfunctioning. I selected 5 folders to copy, it copied .thumbnails from ONE and then just gave up. Won't copy any more.

This is complete garbage. How am I supposed to backup anything?
I'm copying each folder manually now until I run into a problem folder and divide and conquer, but it won't even let you queue up multiple copies at once. What a joke.

Reboot phone and computer. MTP has been buggy since I came to Android @ ICS.
29th May 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 71
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aerowinder

Reboot phone and computer. MTP has been buggy since I came to Android @ ICS.

man. that's a bummer.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank