5,595,000 Members 39,529 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Wi-Fi and 3g connection problems

Tip us?
 
deadeyes46
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Question [Q] Wi-Fi and 3g connection problems

Hi there!
I've some problems with my G-Nexus 5, as wroten in title,
the Wi-Fi and the 3g connection disconnects me during utilizing it,
if i look on the icons of wi-fi or 3g i can see that i'm not receiving any data and i cant continue to surf in web or by enjoying a game online.
So the question is its a hardware or a software problem, and if another one had the same problem.
 
deadeyes46
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2013
So noone had this issue?
 
shotta35
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 449
Posts: 1,567
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC & Germany
Sounds like hardware if this happens both to 3G and WIFI.

How do you fix it? Toggle Wifi? Airplane mode? Restart phone?
 
deadeyes46
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2013
After a bit it begins to surf something like 5-10 seconds
 
Kristi-Tech
Old
#5  
Kristi-Tech's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 147
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tirana
I get the same problem on my 3G, it doesn't happen while I'm on WiFi. I have to disable/enable data or airplane mode on/off to get this working again. Also I have noticed that when signal changes from 3G to EDGE and then back to 3G I don't have data working. Need to to the same trick to have that back. It's annoying and you don't know when it working or not unless you check your phone....and lose notification from Facebook Messenger or Whatsapp which i use a lot.
Sorry, Me Talk Bad English
 
deadeyes46
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2013
I wrote to google lets see what do they say....
I got realy bored about thia issue.
 
wantabe
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 92
Posts: 259
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
I would verify that your apn settings are correct. Either call your carrier or maybe google your ("carrier name" apn settings). Also... Settings/Wireless & networks/More/Mobile networks/Preferred network type, is correct. I do know that in my case as far as wifi I get better results (quicker to connect) if the "Advanced " settings for "WiFi frequency band" is set to 2.4 GHz only. Default is Auto. Worth a shot.
"Don't confuse me with facts, I've already made up my mind!"

AT&T HTC One X - 4.2.2 CleanROM-odexed/Xposed/ElementalX
Nexus 5 32GB
Nexus 7 32GB (2013)
Nexus 4 8GB-Moved to Better Home!
Nexus 7 16GB-Moved to Better Home!.
Nexus 7 32GB-Moved to Better Home!
 
deadeyes46
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by wantabe View Post
I would verify that your apn settings are correct. Either call your carrier or maybe google your ("carrier name" apn settings). Also... Settings/Wireless & networks/More/Mobile networks/Preferred network type, is correct. I do know that in my case as far as wifi I get better results (quicker to connect) if the "Advanced " settings for "WiFi frequency band" is set to 2.4 GHz only. Default is Auto. Worth a shot.
Tried does'nt work, i loos the connection anyway

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes