Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,034 Members 47,348 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] WPA-Enterprise Configuration

Tip us?
 
imarvind
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 17
Join Date: Feb 2010
Question [Q] WPA-Enterprise Configuration

Hi

Does anyone know how to import the wireless authentication certificate from Win7 (for a WPA-Enterprise Wifi Nework - most corporate wifi networks), and install it on Android ?

Use case: I have a laptop that connects to my work wifi using a stored certificate and would like my phone to connect to the corporate wifi as well.

Also, the company does not 'officially' support Android phones. Only BB and iPhone allowed.
 
rootSU
Old
#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9843
Posts: 20,984
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by imarvind View Post
Hi

Does anyone know how to import the wireless authentication certificate from Win7 (for a WPA-Enterprise Wifi Nework - most corporate wifi networks), and install it on Android ?

Use case: I have a laptop that connects to my work wifi using a stored certificate and would like my phone to connect to the corporate wifi as well.

Also, the company does not 'officially' support Android phones. Only BB and iPhone allowed.
Your IT let you connect BB and Iphones on the Corporate Network?

Look, as an IT administrator I'm going to say this... if your IT department wanted you to connect your Android device to the corporate network, they would provision it for you. If they are not provisioning it for you, you're probably breaking company policy. Even if it were possible, there's no way I'd help you do this.
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
imarvind
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 17
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Your IT let you connect BB and Iphones on the Corporate Network?

Look, as an IT administrator I'm going to say this... if your IT department wanted you to connect your Android device to the corporate network, they would provision it for you. If they are not provisioning it for you, you're probably breaking company policy. Even if it were possible, there's no way I'd help you do this.
I see. Well that's like saying - 'If Samsung wanted you to have KitKat on their older models, they'd provision it for you. I will not help you install kangs'.

Thanks anyway. I'll look elsewhere
 
rootSU
Old
#4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9843
Posts: 20,984
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by imarvind View Post
I see. Well that's like saying - 'If Samsung wanted you to have KitKat on their older models, they'd provision it for you. I will not help you install kangs'.
Not really, no. Installing a Kang is not affecting someone's corporate network, putting it at risk and putting your job at risk and potentially causing massive problems for your IT department.

It's more akin to saying "My company doesn't want me to have a corporate credit card. They've given me the numbers for online purchases but I want to use it in a physical shop. Can you help me print the details to a blank card"

anyway, I said "even if it was possible", meaning in other words "it's not possible"
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
int-
Old
(Last edited by int-; 24th January 2014 at 03:03 PM.) Reason: mistake.
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 119
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Termoli
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Not really, no. Installing a Kang is not affecting someone's corporate network, putting it at risk and putting your job at risk and potentially causing massive problems for your IT department.

It's more akin to saying "My company doesn't want me to have a corporate credit card. They've given me the numbers for online purchases but I want to use it in a physical shop. Can you help me print the details to a blank card"

anyway, I said "even if it was possible", meaning in other words "it's not possible"
I full quote.

Anyway, on serious networks the are always port-security enabled and several checks at access and distributions layers. Say that, @imarvind, even if you can import your certificate, this is does not mean that you can reach connectivity
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes