Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,525 Members 39,726 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 5 OTG 2TB External

Tip us?
 
peeweew
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 121
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Nexus 5 OTG 2TB External

Hello,

Would just like to know if any of you have tried to OTG Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB to your Nexus 5.
Or any portable external drive >= 1TB. Any external drive which do not have separate power adaptor.

Is it possible?
 
Seadra
Old
#2  
Seadra's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 974
Join Date: Aug 2013
It's definitely not possible just with stock.

You need things.. And it's possible.

Stickmount App
Custom Kernel - For example, franco.

Now a month back with this setup, I was able to use "portable" HDD. Now, I am not able to, I don't know why. Anyways, I tried "power" portable HDD and it worked. I searched the net and found, I need a http://www.amazon.com/eForCity-dual-.../dp/B005M0ICG2 this. And it's totally possible.
The Following User Says Thank You to Seadra For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
peeweew
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 121
Join Date: Sep 2010
Great! I'm on PA4.2+Franco right now and also using Stick Mount.
Already tried to OTG my 1TB but it just lit the LED.
I have not thought of using a Dual USB, that means Nexus 5 cannot power a 1TB HD alone.
I hope it can handle 500GB

Maybe I'll try it again once I have the Dual USB already. Thank you.
 
rootSU
Old
#4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,446
Posts: 22,484
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
You'll need a power source. Not sure it can power mechanical drives at all.
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
Zepius
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,080
Posts: 2,849
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
You'll need a power source. Not sure it can power mechanical drives at all.
im pretty sure it cannot power mechanical drives. they require too much power.
Go back to stock on your nexus 5 using this guide: here

Tired of paying too much money for your phone plan? go prepaid!

Save money on refills for your prepaid plans: Use Callingmart

-Zep
 
rootSU
Old
#6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,446
Posts: 22,484
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepius View Post
im pretty sure it cannot power mechanical drives. they require too much power.
I thought that too. I know the S3 I used to have could power up to 500 GB Mechanical drive through USB Host mode, but that was a technical first. I doubt many OEMs are looking at that as a valid feature request.
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes