Post Reply

Nexus 5 OTG 2TB External

OP peeweew

28th March 2014, 11:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Hello,

Would just like to know if any of you have tried to OTG Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB to your Nexus 5.
Or any portable external drive >= 1TB. Any external drive which do not have separate power adaptor.

Is it possible?
28th March 2014, 11:27 AM   |  #2  
Seadra's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 207
 
978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
It's definitely not possible just with stock.

You need things.. And it's possible.

Stickmount App
Custom Kernel - For example, franco.

Now a month back with this setup, I was able to use "portable" HDD. Now, I am not able to, I don't know why. Anyways, I tried "power" portable HDD and it worked. I searched the net and found, I need a http://www.amazon.com/eForCity-dual-.../dp/B005M0ICG2 this. And it's totally possible.
The Following User Says Thank You to Seadra For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2014, 11:59 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Great! I'm on PA4.2+Franco right now and also using Stick Mount.
Already tried to OTG my 1TB but it just lit the LED.
I have not thought of using a Dual USB, that means Nexus 5 cannot power a 1TB HD alone.
I hope it can handle 500GB

Maybe I'll try it again once I have the Dual USB already. Thank you.
28th March 2014, 12:14 PM   |  #4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,256
 
23,259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
You'll need a power source. Not sure it can power mechanical drives at all.
28th March 2014, 01:37 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,083
 
2,866 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

You'll need a power source. Not sure it can power mechanical drives at all.

im pretty sure it cannot power mechanical drives. they require too much power.
28th March 2014, 01:41 PM   |  #6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,256
 
23,259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepius

im pretty sure it cannot power mechanical drives. they require too much power.

I thought that too. I know the S3 I used to have could power up to 500 GB Mechanical drive through USB Host mode, but that was a technical first. I doubt many OEMs are looking at that as a valid feature request.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank