Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,408 Members 53,392 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Replace default task switcher

Tip us?
 
Scottland
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 396
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default Replace default task switcher

Hi,

Wondering if there any mods to replace or tweak the default task switcher in Android. Something like the HTC switcher (showing 9 cards at once) would be ideal.

So far I only have seen play store apps that only seem to supplement the default switcher not replace or tweak it.

Any about?
 
dahlem
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 599
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Try Switchr...

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Scottland
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 396
Join Date: Jun 2006
Thanks, i have seen that but it doesn't replace the default switcher and doesn't have a multi card view. I'm after something that can I see all / most recent apps with that's quicker than scrolling through a list that only shows a few at a time.
 
peecs121
Old
#4  
peecs121's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 1,000
Join Date: Jan 2011
On the AICP ROM there's Omniswitch. It replaces it and you can also set favorite apps too. I love it

Super powered Nexus 5 running AICP/ElementalX
 
letdatbassknock
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 83
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by peecs121 View Post
On the AICP ROM there's Omniswitch. It replaces it and you can also set favorite apps too. I love it

Super powered Nexus 5 running AICP/ElementalX
Can you take a screenshot of it? Thanks.
 
Scottland
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 396
Join Date: Jun 2006
Thanks for the suggestion, having a look now but the version I can find is giving me permissions issues when flashed. I'll have a play and see if I can get it working
 
peecs121
Old
#7  
peecs121's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 1,000
Join Date: Jan 2011
Super powered Nexus 5 running AICP/ElementalX
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1396800144195.jpg
Views:	390
Size:	82.4 KB
ID:	2671756  
 
peecs121
Old
#8  
peecs121's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 1,000
Join Date: Jan 2011
It's great trust me. I only have a few things set cause its all I need

Super powered Nexus 5 running AICP/ElementalX

---------- Post added at 12:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:03 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottland View Post
Thanks for the suggestion, having a look now but the version I can find is giving me permissions issues when flashed. I'll have a play and see if I can get it working
Did you flash the rom or just trying to install the apk from a different source on top of your current rom? That might be the issue

Super powered Nexus 5 running AICP/ElementalX
 
Scottland
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 396
Join Date: Jun 2006
I found a flashable zip version, don't want to install the rom (yet anyway). It should be workable as it seems to be built with porting to different ROMs in mind etc.
 
setspeed
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 134
Posts: 941
Join Date: May 2009
I played with the HTC M8 yesterday in a store and I'd really like that card-based task switcher as well. The current stock Android switcher is pretty, but even at the time it was introduced it was clearly a step backwards functionality-wise, compared with the Gingerbread task switcher... The new HTC thing is pretty much what Google should've done.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
--------------------------------------
POSSIBLY MY NEXT
Moto X+1

CURRENT
Phone :: Google Nexus 5
ROM :: Mahdi-ROM 2.7
Kernel: ElementalX

RETIRED / SOLD / STOPPED WORKING
Phone :: Samsung Galaxy S3, HTC Desire Z, HTC Desire, TMobile G1

BRIEFLY FLIRTED WITH
Phone :: Google Nexus 4, Samsung Galaxy S i9000, Google Nexus 1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes