Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,569 Members 44,383 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How To] Add persistent 3-dot menu button on KK :)

Tip us?
 
Baphometa
Old
#11  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 89
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seattle
I'm trying to do this on paranoid android beta 6 but can't fint any smali files in sysui.apk

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Device: N/A
ROM:N/A
Kernel: N/A
Recovery: N/A

Old Devices:
Sprint Gnex
HTC Sensation
HTC G2
Moto Cliq
T-Mobile G1

 
EnricoD
Old
#12  
EnricoD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer - OP
Thanks Meter 3889
Posts: 2,185
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baphometa View Post
I'm trying to do this on paranoid android beta 6 but can't fint any smali files in sysui.apk

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
impossible

If You decompile SYstemUI You will find it inside /smali/com/android/systemui/statusbar/phone/NavigationBarView.java

https://github.com/AOSPA/android_fra...onBarView.java
 
Baphometa
Old
#13  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 89
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricocid View Post
impossible

If You decompile SYstemUI You will find it inside /smali/com/android/systemui/statusbar/phone/NavigationBarView.java

https://github.com/AOSPA/android_fra...onBarView.java


Is it possible to do on the handset itself or am I going to need a pc for this??

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Device: N/A
ROM:N/A
Kernel: N/A
Recovery: N/A

Old Devices:
Sprint Gnex
HTC Sensation
HTC G2
Moto Cliq
T-Mobile G1

 
EnricoD
Old
#14  
EnricoD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer - OP
Thanks Meter 3889
Posts: 2,185
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baphometa View Post
Is it possible to do on the handset itself or am I going to need a pc for this??

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
No. You need to decompile the .apk
 
Baphometa
Old
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 89
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricocid View Post
No. You need to decompile the .apk
Sorry I am just starting to dable in actually modifying system files myself.

So renaming to. Zip instead of all and unzipping isn't enough? What exactly do I need to decompile the apk.

I apologize ahead of time if this was somewhere else in the thread that I missed

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Device: N/A
ROM:N/A
Kernel: N/A
Recovery: N/A

Old Devices:
Sprint Gnex
HTC Sensation
HTC G2
Moto Cliq
T-Mobile G1

 
EnricoD
Old
#16  
EnricoD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer - OP
Thanks Meter 3889
Posts: 2,185
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baphometa View Post
Sorry I am just starting to dable in actually modifying system files myself.

So renaming to. Zip instead of all and unzipping isn't enough? What exactly do I need to decompile the apk.

I apologize ahead of time if this was somewhere else in the thread that I missed

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
No..
try using this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2341351
 
flintston314
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 57
Join Date: Nov 2012
Nice, I made a menu button mod on Xperia Z 4.3, now, back then I made it so, that the 4 buttons would all be on the same distance and same size. Could you do that aswell
? I think that it is astetically better (no center button). The way you did it the menu button is on the far right, this does look weird.
 
1337RYoN
Old
#18  
1337RYoN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 493
Join Date: Nov 2012
Woah... Wouldn't use GravityBox be much easier??!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app



Phone: Nexus 5
ROM: Stock
Kernel: ElementalX
Storage: 32GB
Recovery: TWRP
Hammer_Of_The_Gods Old
(Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 25th February 2014 at 02:02 PM.)
#19  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337RYoN View Post
Woah... Wouldn't use GravityBox be much easier??!
Hi,

Not everybody want to use Xposed stuff for various reasons... and use GravityBox just for have the 3 dot menu...

When someone made a guide to modify some parts of the system, spent some time to write the how-to, etc... no offense, but just say "you could use an Xposed module, much easier", not very nice.

It's also the pleasure to do some modifications by yourself, learn to decompile/recompile, understand some stuff, make your own mods, etc...

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
EnricoD
Old
(Last edited by EnricoD; 25th February 2014 at 05:11 PM.)
#20  
EnricoD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer - OP
Thanks Meter 3889
Posts: 2,185
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337RYoN View Post
Woah... Wouldn't use GravityBox be much easier??!
http://cdn3.xda-developers.com/images/editor/attach.gif
Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
!! lol.. if it's easier then use it XD !!

Consider we do these guides to help people to understand Android, and also because we like modding
it's funny and also interesting

(my needs: Manually added

persistent menu button
clear all recents
cool colored battery%
what else???
If I need something more I will install custom Roms... not xposed)

The Following User Says Thank You to EnricoD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Glass XE20.1 Update Brings Improved Contacts, Head Nudge, New Cards and Commands

Ever since Google unveiled Android Wear earlier this … more

Remote Control Your Android Device with Monitordroid

The Android OS showsgreat potential in many areas. One of most interesting things that … more

Intel Partners with Unity to Support Android on Intel-Based Devices

Intel, largely known for their long-standing reputation as the king of … more

Device Review: Samsung Gear Live

Recently, Google announced Android Wear to the world. Android Wear is the Android-based initiative from … more