Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Task switcher /multitasking like the one on sense 5-6?

OP Chad_Petree

13th March 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #1  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 185
 
2,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I like what HTC did with the task switcher on their phones, is there an app that works like it? It's just a bunch of "cards " so there's no need for scrolling, you just "flip " the ones you want to close

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1394725276360.jpg
Views:	16193
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	2628582

Gesendet von meinem Nexus 5 mit Tapatalk
14th March 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #2  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 185
 
2,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Anyone?
22nd March 2014, 06:39 AM   |  #3  
iHackMyStuff's Avatar
Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 18
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
It's kind of disappointing because no one bothered to port these frameworks. Sense 4's multitasking interface has been ported to the Nexus S, Galaxy S and other devices before by editing xml's, but apparently these are too device/rom specific so people probably think it's not worth the hassle.
22nd March 2014, 07:06 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Queensland
Thanks Meter: 57
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
This is so much more efficient than Google's implementation, I haven't tried it but Slims task switcher seems pretty nice.

I personally use switchr

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
22nd March 2014, 11:02 AM   |  #5  
kevtrysmoddin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 681
 
1,586 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Check Omni's g+ page and have a look at the new multi tasking feature there working on it looks epic

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
22nd March 2014, 11:18 AM   |  #6  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 185
 
2,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aadilnz

This is so much more efficient than Google's implementation, I haven't tried it but Slims task switcher seems pretty nice.

I personally use switchr

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I personally don't like switchr I think it totally gets rid of the eye candy, you're just switching between icons :'(

Which slim task switcher are you referring to? Slim Kat's? As far as I know they're just using the stock android task switcher [emoji21]

Gesendet von meinem Nexus 5 mit Tapatalk
24th March 2014, 09:20 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad_Petree

I personally don't like switchr I think it totally gets rid of the eye candy, you're just switching between icons :'(

Which slim task switcher are you referring to? Slim Kat's? As far as I know they're just using the stock android task switcher [emoji21]

Gesendet von meinem Nexus 5 mit Tapatalk

No theyre using a sidebar type Kind of thing instead of normal recents. Mahdi ROM also uses the new recents

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th March 2014, 09:18 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 154
 
665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radixtrator

No theyre using a sidebar type Kind of thing instead of normal recents. Mahdi ROM also uses the new recents

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

can we get a couple of screenshots of what you are talking about? ( i know how sense looks like i mean mahdi and slim)

Gesendet von meinem Nexus 7 mit Tapatalk
30th March 2014, 06:33 AM   |  #9  
kufikugel's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter: 20,190
 
3,109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by UsEr313131

can we get a couple of screenshots of what you are talking about? ( i know how sense looks like i mean mahdi and slim)

Gesendet von meinem Nexus 7 mit Tapatalk



That's how it looks. Main change to aosp is that it is bug free, way way faster + you can pin favorite apps. But basically if you use it for a week you will see that you silently change your workflow on the phone. If it is optical for everyone nice....well to each his own...it follows googles new ui card style and transparent status and navbar etc.

And yes developed by SlimROMs and available in the weeklies and on coming Monday as well on stable release 4.0 of slimkat

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Last edited by kufikugel; 30th March 2014 at 06:52 AM.
30th March 2014, 08:14 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 154
 
665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kufikugel



That's how it looks. Main change to aosp is that it is bug free, way way faster + you can pin favorite apps. But basically if you use it for a week you will see that you silently change your workflow on the phone. If it is optical for everyone nice....well to each his own...it follows googles new ui card style and transparent status and navbar etc.

And yes developed by SlimROMs and available in the weeklies and on coming Monday as well on stable release 4.0 of slimkat

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

can you check slimcat for a national roaming tick in settings…?

Gesendet von meinem Nexus 7 mit Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes